Broncos Land Three on All-WAC Teams

LAS VEGAS - The Boise State volleyball team made more history Sunday night (Nov. 21) when it was announced at the Western Athletic Conference volleyball banquet that senior Alisha Young was named to the 2010 All-WAC First Team. Young becomes only the seventh Bronco to ever be named to a first-team, earning the 12th overall first-team honor by a Bronco. Senior Sadie Maughan and junior Breann Nesselhuf join Young with all-conference honors, both being named to the All-WAC Second Team.

Young's first-team honor is the first in her career after being named to the 2009 All-WAC Second Team. The last time a Bronco earned a first-team honor was in 2006 with Cameron Flunder earning her third first-team honor of her career (2004, 2005, 2006). Young joins Flunder as the only two Broncos to ever be named to the All-WAC First Team.

Maughan collected her third All-WAC Second Team honor, being named during the 2008, 2009 and 2010 seasons. Nesselhuf was named to the second-team for the second time in her career (2009 and 2010).

For the 15th-straight year, Hawai'i boasts the WAC Player of the Year, as junior out-side hitter Kanani Danielson earned the honors for a second-straight year. Teammate Emily Hartong captured Freshman of the Year honors, while head coach Dave Shoji was named WAC Coach of the Year.

Six different schools were represented on the first team. Hawai'i, the No. 1 seed in the WAC Tournament, had five players named to the first team and one to the second team. Second-seeded New Mexico State had three players on the first team and one on the second team. Boise State, Idaho, Nevada and Utah State each had one first-team selection.

The All-WAC First Team, All-WAC Second Team, Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year are all selected by the league's head coaches.

Boise State's All-Time First Team Honorees
Sharon Leonhardt - 1986 - Mountain West Athletic Conference
Sandy Stewart - 1988, 1989 - Big Sky Conference
Kelly Baker - 1987 - Mountain West Athletic Conference; 1988, 1989 - Big Sky Conference
Tina Harris - 1992 - Big Sky Conference
Brandy Mamizuka - 1998 - Big West Conference
Cameron Flunder - 2004, 2005, 2006 - Western Athletic Conference
Alisha Young - 2010 - Western Athletic Conference

» «