Broncos Picked Second, Three Honored
Aug. 17, 2016

MW Network Announcement (Video)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Boise State volleyball team has been picked to place a close second to Colorado State in the 2016 MW coaches preseason poll which was released this morning from the conference offices in Colorado Springs, Colo. Boise State had the most selections on the league's preseason team led by junior outside hitter Sierra Nobley who was also named the MW Player of the Year, a first for a Bronco in program history. Joining Nobley on the Preseason All-Mountain West Team where senior middle blocker Maddy O'Donnell and junior libero Maddi Osburn.

The Broncos matched their preseason pick from last year when they were projected to tie with UNLV for second, 14 points behind Colorado State. This year Boise State received four first place votes and a total of 92 points placing the Broncos in second place, four points behind seven-time defending MW champion Colorado State. The Rams were picked first with six first-place votes and 96 overall points. CSU won the 2015 title going 18-0 in league and 26-4 overall, Boise State was second going 15-3 in MW play and 23-7 overall.

Following Boise State and Colorado State in third was Wyoming who earned one first-place vote and 80 points. New Mexico was next in fourth followed by San Diego State and UNLV tied for fifth. Nevada was picked seventh ahead of Fresno State, Utah State, San Jose State and Air Force, respectively.

Nobley is the first Bronco in history to be named a conference's preseason player of the year, this is her second straight Preseason All-MW selection. The junior outside hitter has been a dominating force for the Broncos since she arrived on campus. She was named the 2014 MW Freshman of the Year after setting the league's freshman record for kills in a season. She is a two-time postseason All-MW honoree, garnered AVCA Honorable Mention All-Region recognition in 2014, as well as a AVCA All-Region and Honorable Mention All-American honors last year.

This is O'Donnell's first preseason selection in her career. The lone Boise State senior in 2016 is coming off an outstanding season where she earned her second-consecutive postseason All-Mountain West accolade. O'Donnell, from Irvine, Calif., was a force at the net for the Broncos last year with 247 kills and a team-high 96 blocks to go with 26 services aces.

This is Osburn's first preseason accolade as well. Last year she was named to the postseason All-MW Team after playing a major role on Boise State's defensive backline, starting at libero. She led the Broncos in digs with 493, the third-most in program history to rank fifth in the MW and 111th nationally. She averaged 4.52 digs per set, third-most in the MW and ranked 89th in the NCAA and second all-time at Boise State.

Bronco Nation will have its first chance this season to see the Boise State volleyball team in action when they hold a intra-squad scrimmage this Thursday, Aug. 18, from 5-7 p.m. in Bronco Gym. It is open to the public and admission is free. There will be a post-match meet and greet along with autograph signing.

Boise State opens the season with three straight road tournaments starting the weekend of Aug. 27-28 at the TCU Tournament in Fort Worth, Texas. The Broncos will not play at home until they host the Boise State Classic Sept. 15-17 featuring Arizona State, Santa Clara, Portland State and UC Davis.


Player                                      Pos.         Cl.                Team

Sierra Nobley                          OH           Jr.                Boise State

Maddy O'Donnell                     MB           Sr.               Boise State

Maddi Osburn                          L              Jr.                Boise State

Alexandra Poletto                   MB           Jr.                Colorado State

Bree Hammel                          MB           Sr.               UNLV

Alexis Patterson                     S              Jr.                UNLV

Laura Beach                           MB           Sr.               Wyoming


Preseason Player of the Year:  Sierra Nobley, OH, Jr., Boise State


 Pl.   Team (1st place votes)                          Points
1. Colorado State (6)                                           96
2. Boise State (4)                                                 92
3. Wyoming (1)                                                     80
4. New Mexico                                                      66
5. San Diego State                                               64
     UNLV                                                               64
7. Nevada                                                             47
8. Fresno State                                                     35
9. Utah State                                                         28
10. San José State                                               21
11. Air Force                                                         12


» «