55 Bronco Student-Athletes Receive Academic Honors

Jan. 31, 2014

BOISE, Idaho - The Mountain West Conference has announced its 2013 fall all-academic teams and 55 Boise State University student-athletes, in five different sports, received recognition.

Among the 12 football teams in the league, the Broncos produced the most academic honorees with 31, led by red-shirt freshman wide receiver D.J. Dean (Eagle, Idaho) who recorded a perfect 4.00 grade-point average.

To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term while maintaining a cumulative GPA average of 3.00 or better.

Along with the 31 football players, eight student-athletes from the soccer team where honored along with six from the women's cross country team and five each from men's cross country and volleyball.

Following is the complete list of Boise State student-athletes receiving the league award:

Men’s Cross Country

Name                     Class                Major

Aaron Black            Junior               Exercise Science

Kyle Merritt              Junior               Exercise Science

David Elliott             Junior               Business Management

Jeff Howard            Senior              K-12 Physical Education

Zachary Wiles         Senior              Sociology

Women’s Cross Country  

Name                           Class            Major  

Marisa Howard             Senior          Nursing

Katherine Jette             Senior           Health Science Studies

Lauren Lucas               Senior          Elementary Education

Shelby McIntyre            Sophomore   Marketing

Shannon Susbauer       Sophomore   Physiology

Taryn Treadway           Senior           Elementary Education 


Name                           Class                Major  

Jay Ajayi                      Sophomore        Marketing

Travis Averill                 Sophomore        undeclared

Corey Bell                     Junior                Business Management

Charles Bertoli              Sophomore        Athletic Training

Jonathan Brown             Senior               Business Management

Dallas Burroughs           Junior               Criminal Justice

Jack Fields                   Sophomore        undeclared

Spencer Gerke              Senior               Criminal Justice

Jake Hardee                 Junior               Political Science

Trevor Harman              Senior               Communication

Marcus Henry                Junior                Business Management

Tyler Horn                    Junior                Communication

Dustin Kamper              Senior               Communication

Darren Lee                   Freshman           undeclared

Gabe Linehan               Senior                Marketing

Taylor Loffler                Junior                 Business Management

Dillon Lukehart              Junior                 Business Management

Ebo Makinde                 Senior                 Business Management

Beau Martin                  Junior                  Communication

Sam McCaskill               Sophomore         Supply Chain Management

Matt Miller                     Junior                 Business Management

Kirby Moore                   Senior                Communication

Ress Odhiambo            Junior                 Exercise Science

Matt Paradis                 Senior                 Economics

Chris Santini                 Sophomore         undeclared

Joe Southwick               Senior                 Business Management

Chris Tozer                   Senior                 Communication

Sean Wale                    Sophomore         Health Science

Ben Weaver                  Sophomore          Finance

Shane Williams-Rhodes Sophomore          Communication

Mario Yakoo                Sophomore           Communication 


Name                             Class                 Major  

Dominique Banks           Sophomore       Health Science Studies

Bekah Carrasquer          Sophomore       Health Science Studies

Brooke Heideman           Sophomore       Health Science Studies

Ashley Hruby                  Senior              Supply Chain Management

Katy Oehring                  Senior              Health Science Studies

Anna Popma                  Sophomore       Health Science Studies

Shannon Schueren         Junior               Chemistry

Rebe Wolverton              Senior              Health Science Studies 


Name                             Class                Major  

Sarah Baugh                  Sophomore       Biology

Aly Duffin                      Junior                Business Management

Alyssa Gammel              Junior                Social Science

Casey Rose                   Senior               Social Science

Janessa White               Sophomore        Health Science Studies


» «