Women's Tennis Falls 4-1 to Fresno State, Claims Third-Straight WAC Runner-Up Title

LAS CRUCES, N.M. In the 2008 Western Athletic Conference Women’s Tennis Championship finals, the No. 40-ranked Boise State Broncos (20-6) were unable to handle the tough play of No. 19-ranked Fresno State, falling 4-1 in the championship match. For the third straight season the Broncos have placed second behind the Bulldogs in the WAC Championship tournament.

Fresno State got off to a good start with No. 31-ranked Renata Kucerkova and Anastasia Petukhova defeating Laura Baum and Jana Mackova in an 8-1 No. 2 doubles match. No. 3-ranked Melanie Gloria and Tinesta Rowe fought off No. 54-ranked Polina Kokoulina and Pichittra Thongdach in the No. 1 match, clinching the doubles point with an 8-4 win over the Bronco duo. In the No. 3 doubles match, Boise State’s Bianca Jochimsen and Klaudia Wlodarczyk were ahead of Fresno State’s Jacqueline Haskett and Danon Beatty, 4-3, when doubles play ceased.

In singles play, the Bulldogs were able to pull ahead with a 3-0 team lead by adding two singles wins to their doubles point. No. 22-ranked Petukhova quickly defeated BSU’s Kokoulina, 6-1, 6-0, in the No. 2 match with Kucerkova downing Jochimsen, 6-4, 6-2, in the No. 3 singles match. Boise State got on the scoreboard when Baum earned a 6-3, 2-6, 6-4 win over Beatty in the No. 6 spot. Although the Broncos fought hard through all their matches, the Bulldogs were just too much, clinching the team title when No. 4 singles player Rowe defeated Wlodarczyk 6-3, 4-6, 6-3.

Two singles matches remained unfinished when the Bulldogs clinched the team championship title. In the No. 1 match, No. 16-ranked Gloria was at an even tie with Thongdach, splitting the first two sets 5-7, 6-4, and ceasing the match with a 3-3 third set tie. In the No. 5 singles match, senior Stacey Housley was ahead of Haskett, 2-6, 7-6, 4-3 when play was stopped.

Despite their loss, the Broncos were able to snag three All-WAC Honors with Thongdach leading the way by making the First-Team All-WAC Singles roster. Kokoulina was named to the Second-Team All-WAC Singles Roster while the duo was named to the Second-Team All-WAC Doubles roster. Fresno State’s Gloria was named the WAC Player of the Year, while head coach Simon Thibodeau was honored as Coach of the Year. Nevada’s Florence De Vrye captured the WAC Freshman of the Year honor.

The 4-1 loss to Fresno State becomes the Broncos’ first WAC loss this season, setting their conference record at 5-1. Their neutral court record also drops to a 6-2 record with the loss. The Broncos will now wait for Tuesday’s NCAA First Round selections to be made to discover their post-season schedule. Results should be available after 1 p.m. Mountain Time.

Tennis Match Results
Boise State vs Fresno State
Apr 26, 2008 at Las Cruces, N.M.
(NMSU Tennis Center)
#19 Fresno State 4, #40 Boise State 1

Singles competition
1. #16 Melanie Gloria (FRESNO) vs. Pichittra Thongdack (BSU) 5-7, 6-4, 3-3, unfinished
2. #22 Anastasia Petukhova (FRESNO) def. Polina Kokoulina (BSU) 6-1, 6-0
3. Renata Kucerkova (FRESNO) def. Bianca Jochimsen (BSU) 6-4, 6-2
4. Tinesta Rowe (FRESNO) def. Klaudia Wlodarczyk (BSU) 6-3, 4-6, 6-3
5. Jacqueline Haskett (FRESNO) vs. Stacey Housley (BSU) 6-2, 6-7, 3-4, unfinished
6. Laura Baum (BSU) def. Danon Beatty (FRESNO) 6-3, 2-6, 6-4
Order of Finish: 2, 3, 6, 4*
Did Not Finish: 1, 5

Doubles competition
1. #3 Melanie Gloria/Tinesta Rowe (FRESNO) def. #54 Pichittra Thongdack/Polina Kokoulina (BSU) 8-4
2. #31 Renata Kucerkova/Anastasia Petukhova (FRESNO) def. Laura Baum/Jana Mackova (BSU) 8-1
3. Jacqueline Haskett/Danon Beatty (FRESNO) vs. Bianca Jochimsen/Klaudia Wlodarczyk (BSU) 3-4, unfinished
Order of Finish: 2, 1
Did Not Finish: 3

Match Notes:
Boise State 19-6; National ranking #40
Fresno State 20-7; National ranking #19
Women's Championship Match
Fresno State - No. 1 Seed
Boise State - No. 2 Seed
Fresno State wins the 2008 WAC Women's Tennis Championship

First-Team All-WAC Singles

Melanie Gloria, Fresno State

Renata Kucerkova, Fresno State

Sophie Kobuch, Hawai'i

Maria Mizyuk, Nevada

Anastasia Petukhova, Fresno State

Pichittra Thongdach, Boise State

First-Team All-WAC Doubles|

Melanie Gloria & Tinesta Rowe, Fresno State

Renata Kucerkova & Anastasia Petukhova, Fresno State

Maria Mizyuk & Caroline Bailly, Nevada

Second-Team All-WAC Singles

Caroline Bailly, Nevada

Stephanie Eusebe, New Mexico State

Polina Kokoulina, Boise State

Sophia Marks, New Mexico State

Tinesta Rowe, Fresno State

Ashley Tavita, San Jose State

Second-Team All-WAC Doubles

Sophie Kobuch & Chloe Bihag, Hawai'i

Polina Kokoulina & Pichittra Thongdach, Boise State

Sophia Marks & Aleksa Costa, New Mexico State

Freshman of the Year: Florence De Vrye, Nevada

Player of the Year: Melanie Gloria, Fresno State

Coach of the Year: Simon Thibodeau, Fresno State

» «