Cortney, Pfeiffer to Compete at Zones

Cortney, Pfeiffer to Compete at Zones
USAFA, Colo.-
Boise State will send two student-athletes to the NCAA Zone E Diving Championships March 14-16, at Cadet Natatorium on the campus of the U.S. Air Force Academy. Lexi Pfeiffer and Ciera Cortney will represent the Broncos.

Cortney, a junior, is returning for the third-straight year, becoming the first Bronco to qualify for zones three times. Pfeiffer, a senior, will be making her first-career appearance at the meet. Both will be competing in all three events.

Pfeiffer achieved qualifying scores on one-meter and three-meter this season.  She finished fifth on one-meter at the Mountain West Championships last month, in addition to a 10th-place showing on three-meter and 13th on platform.

Cortney posted a qualifying score in all three disciplines this season. She earned her zone score on platform when she finished sixth at the Mountain West meet. She also took 11th on one-meter and 14th on three-meter.

There are 50 women entered in each of the springboard competitions and 30 in the platform event.

The Broncos competed at Cadet Natatorium earlier this season when they took part in the Air Force Diving Invitational (Jan. 25-26). At the meet, Cortney finished third on one-meter, eighth on platform and 14th on three-meter. Pfeiffer was ninth on one-meter, 13th on platform and 21st on three-meter.

Live results will be available at Admission to the meet is free.

There will be 24 schools represented on the women's side at the meet, including all nine Mountain West institutions. Present will be: Air Force, Arizona, Arizona State, Boise State, BYU, California, UC Davis, UCLA, Colorado State, Denver, Fresno State, Hawai'i, Idaho, New Mexico, New Mexico State, Nevada, UNLV, Northern Arizona, USC, San Diego State, San Jose State, Stanford, Utah and Wyoming.

Zone E will send nine women to the NCAA Championships. The predetermined selection order to qualify for the national meet is listed below. If one slot represents a student-athlete already selected, the next position will qualify until there are nine individuals.

  • 1. Platform champion
  • 2. Three-meter champion
  • 3. One-meter champion
  • 4. Three-meter runner-up
  • 5. One-meter runner-up
  • 6. Three-meter third place
  • 7. One-meter third place
  • 8. Platform runner-up
  • 9. Three-meter fourth place
  • 10. One-meter fourth place
  • 11. Three-meter fifth place
  • 12. Platform third place
  • 13. One-meter fifth place
  • 14. Three-meter sixth place
  • 15. One-meter sixth place
  • 16. Platform fourth place
  • 17. Three-meter seventh place
  • 18. One-meter seventh place
  • 19. Three-meter eighth place
  • 20. Platform fifth place
  • 21. One-meter eighth place
  • 22. Three-meter ninth place
  • 23. One-meter ninth place
  • 24. Platform sixth place
  • 25. Three-meter 10th place
  • 26. One-meter 10th place
  • 27. Three-meter 11th place
  • 28. Platform seventh place
  • 29. One-meter 11th place
  • 30. Three-meter 12th place
  • 31. One-meter 12th place

» «