Heaney Wins 200 Fly, Broncos Finish Second

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

SAN ANTONIO-Boise State women's swimming and diving finished second at the 2013 Mountain West Championships with 575 points. Rachel Heaney won the 200-yard butterfly to highlight the final day of competition. San Diego State won the team title with 734 points.

Heaney trailed by nearly a second at the halfway point in finals of the 200 fly before tearing away from the field and winning by more than a second in 1:57.40. She set the school record in prelims at 1:57.39, breaking her own mark of 1:58.50 from earlier this season. It also meets the NCAA provisional qualifying standard. Brooke Balogh finished fourth in the 200 fly and Christine Raininger closed her career with a win in the consolation final.

Senior Stevie Hughey also went out on a high note, winning her second individual medal of the meet. Hughey clocked a 49.86 to take third in the 100-yard freestyle. The time is a career best and an NCAA provisional cut. She came in third in a stacked group of four at the top of the heat. The winning time was 49.76 with second at 49.85 and fourth at 49.90. Hughey's final 50 yards was the fastest in the field as she almost ran down the leaders. Jessica Bottelberghe finished sixth at 50.22.

Boise State grabbed three of the top eight spots in the 200-yard breaststroke, led by Chelsea Miller's tie for second place at 2:12.73, setting the school record. Miller was third in the event as a freshman in 2011, when she set the previous record. Emily Campbell placed fourth in 2:12.77, also under the previous school record. Campbell, a sophomore, took fourth in both breaststroke events after not scoring at last season's championships. Heather Harper took eighth in the final at 2:16.62, but set a career best of 2:16.44 to make the final.

Devin Madsen placed fifth in the 200-yard backstroke after setting the school record in prelims at 1:57.56, also an NCAA 'B' cut. Nikki Cannon was seventh in the 200 backstroke and Sydney Johansen won the consolation final.

Boise State also picked up points in the platform diving event. Ciera Cortney advanced to the championship final where she placed sixth with a career-best 228.63. Lexi Pfeiffer closed her meet with an appearance in the consolation final. Pfeiffer placed 13th with a 192.72.

Even though the team race had been decided by the time the last event came around, the 400-yard freestyle relay provided plenty of excitement to close the meet. The Broncos took third in 3:19.51 as the top three squads were all within .77 seconds of each other.

The Aztecs won four relays and five individual events to reclaim the championship Boise State took from them in 2012. San Diego State won the 2011 championship.

Next up for Boise State will be the NCAA Zone Diving Championships where Cortney and Pfeiffer will both compete.

» «