83 Broncos Earn MW Scholar-Athlete Award

June 25, 2013


Eighty-three Boise State student-athletes were awarded Mountain West Scholar-Athlete distinction for the 2012-13 academic year, the conference announced Monday. Boise State had the second-highest number of individuals recognized behind New Mexico. The MW Scholar-Athlete Award is one of the highest academic honors bestowed by the conference.

The Broncos combined for 95 such honors as 12 student-athletes earned the award in cross country and track and field (one man, 11 women). Those marks surpass the 70 Broncos who totaled 83 honors last year.

All 19 of Boise State’s sports were represented, though separate honors were not awarded for indoor and outdoor track and field. Women’s track and field led the department with 17 MW Scholar-Athletes. Women’s cross country and women’s swimming and diving tied for second with 12 honorees each.

To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least two academic terms at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or better and have participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.

A MW-record 628 student-athletes were honored across the conference, including 54 individuals who hold a 4.00 cumulative GPA. The 628 total honorees surpass the previous conference mark of 581 (2010-11).

A complete list of Boise State’s honorees is available below.

Men’s Basketball
Joe Hanstad
Jake Ness

Women’s Basketball
Miquelle Askew
Lauren Lenhardt

Men’s Cross Country
David Elliott*
Jared Lehning
John Robinson

Women’s Cross Country
Sarah Bisterfeldt*
Alyssa Boucher
Jenna Carlson*
Lauren Lucas*
Erin McLaughlin*
Erica Morrill*
Tessa Murray*
Anna Preciado*
Madeline Stanford*
Cara Strodel*
Taryn Treadway*
Marisa VanderMalle*

Jack Fields
Kirby Moore
Matt Paradis
Joe Southwick

Men’s Golf
Shane Allor

Women’s Golf
McKenzie Ford
Lori Harper
Jenna Leurquin
Sammie Pless

Maddie Krentz
Molly McFarland
Erin Wipperman 

Women’s Soccer
Rebeka Carrasquer
Jenna Griggs
Noelle Kolb
Kallie Neimann
Kelsey Nicassio
Whitney Peterson
Anna-Marie Popma
Cassidy Richmond
Kelsey Witker
Rebe Wolverton 

Ashley Collier
Madison Foster
Jordan Kreiger
Rose Saenz
Makenna Weir
Mackenzie Whyte

Women’s Swimming and Diving
Blake Balogh
Brooke Balogh
Nikki Cannon
Ciera Cortney
Jenni Domanowski
Heather Harper
Rachel Heaney
Stevie Hughey
Erin Kohlbeck
Devin Madsen
Megan Myers
Sam Wicks

Men’s Tennis
Brian Foley
Aidan Reid

Women’s Tennis
Kaitlyn Brown
Anissa Bryant
Megan LaLone
Fiona Mok
Bobbi Oshiro
Manuela Pietzuch
Marlena Pietzuch

Men’s Track and Field
Ryan Byrd
David Elliott*
Will Lohman
Jeremy Malnes
Tyler Rackleff

Women’s Track and Field
Sarah Bisterfeldt*
Jenna Carlson*
Mackenzie Flannigan
Lauren Lucas*
Shelby McIntyre
Erin McLaughlin*
Erica Morrill*
Tessa Murray*
Anna Preciado*
Lacie Rasley
Kady Stafford
Madeline Stanford*
Cara Strodel*
Shannon Susbauer
Taryn Treadway*
Marisa VanderMalle*
Danielle Zehrung

Sarah Baugh
Alyssa Gammel
Kristyn Kirschenman

Josh Strait
Cole Rice

*-Honored in multiple sports

» «