Boise State's Saxton and Hickcox named to All-WAC soccer team?


Denver- The Western Athletic Conference released the 2008 women's soccer All-WAC teams this week and representing Boise State are Shannon Saxton and Brandy Hickcox. The two were named to the All-WAC second team roster.   Election to the team is by vote of the eight conference coaches.


This is the second time that sophomore Shannon Saxton has received postseason honors from the league after earning All-WAC first team honors as freshman. For the second year in a row the Beaverton, Ore., native led the Broncos in scoring with six goals and a school record eight assists for 20 points. She finished the regular season tied for seventh in goals scored while led the league in assists.


Brandy Hickcox, a freshman from Boise’s Capital High School, made the team as a midfielder. A solid force for the Broncos all year Hickcox recorded two goals during her debut season. Defensively, she was a nuisance to opponents throughout the year breaking up numerous attacks into Boise State’s defensive third.


These two honors bring the Boise State program’s total to 17 postseason awards since they joined the league in 2001. Overall, the Broncos have accumulated 21 all-conference honors since the inaugural year of 1998.



2008 WAC Postseason Honors


First Team

Nicole Gutierrez, Sr., F, Fresno State

Taryn Fukuroku, Sr., F, Hawai'i

Candice Clark, Sr., F, Utah State

Alison Sill, Sr., MF, Fresno State

Mari Punzal, So., MF, Hawai'i

Cristen Drummond, So., MF, Nevada

Chandra Salmon, Fr., MF, Utah State

Selena Gill, Sr., D, Fresno State

Nicole Mikula, So., D, Hawai'i

Lindsey Smart, Jr., D, Utah State

Kaitlyn Revel, So., GK, Fresno State


Second Team

Shannon Saxton, So., F, Boise State

Ambree Ako, Jr., F, Hawai'i

Shantel Flanary, Fr., F, Utah State

Lauren Hansen, So., F, Utah State

Brandy Hickcox, Fr., MF, Boise State

Molly Nizzoli, Fr., MF, Fresno State

Miranda Montejo, Sr., MF, Nevada

Kendall VanDine, Fr., D, Fresno State

Patrice Godwin, Sr., D, Nevada

Alyssa Lowry, Sr., D, Utah State

Ali Griffin, Sr., GK, Utah State


Freshman of the Year Shantel Flanary, F, Utah State

Offensive Player of the Year Taryn Fukuroku, Sr., F, Hawaii

Defensive Player of the Year Nicole Mikula, So., D, Hawaii

Coach of the Year- Heather Cairns, Utah State



» «