Heidemann Leads All-MW Trio
Nov. 2, 2015

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Brooke Heidemann made history and two other Broncos were honored Monday, when the All-Mountain West women’s soccer teams were announced. Heidemann, a senior from Meridian, Idaho, was selected first-team all-conference for the fourth time in her career. She is the third student-athlete in Mountain West history to earn first-team honors four times in women’s soccer.

Hailey DeVries was tabbed All-Mountain West Second Team and Baylee Blaser picked up honorable mention all-conference accolades. It is the first all-league selection for DeVries and Blaser.

Heidemann led Boise State and ranked third in the Mountain West with 14 points and six goals in conference play. She added two assists, which matched the Bronco lead and tied for ninth in the MW. The midfielder scored in four consecutive conference matches and netted three game-winning goals, tying for fourth in the league. Heidemann took 32 shots in MW play, more than double the next Bronco, and put a staggering 56.2 percent of them on goal (18).

With the first-team honor, Heidemann joins Amanda Feigt (Utah, 2003-06) and Katie Larkin (BYU, 2005-08) as the only Mountain West women’s soccer student-athletes to be named first-team all-league four times. Last year she became the first Bronco to earn three first-team nods regardless of conference. Heidemann was also the league’s Freshman of the Year in 2012.

DeVries played 1,003 of the team’s 1,018 minutes in conference play to lead the Broncos. She was one of six student-athletes in the conference to log 1,000 minutes. The junior, who served as co-captain with Heidemann, patrolled the back line starting every match at center back. DeVries orchestrated a defense that recorded 1.33 goals-against average in MW matches despite starting three different goalkeepers over the 11-game schedule.

Blaser netted a pair of goals in Mountain West play as a starting forward for the Broncos. The Boise native scored against San Diego State and UNLV. She took 13 shots and put seven of them on target.

The All-Mountain West teams were voted on by the conference’s 12 head coaches.

» «