Boise State's Presnell named the 2007 Russell Athletic/WBCA Region 7 Coach of the Year....

BOISE, Idaho - (3/12/07) - Boise State’s head women’s basketball coach Gordy Presnell has been named the 2007 Russell Athletic/Women’s Basketball Coaches Association’s (WBCA) Region 7 Coach of the Year. It is Presnell’s second honor this year after being named the Western Athletic Conference’s Coach of the Year last week. He joins seven other regional coaches of the year including such names as Geno Auriemma of Connecticut, Pat Summitt of Tennessee, and Tara VanDerveer of Stanford.


This award is the 15th coach of the year honor for Presnell in 20 years as a collegiate head coach. He has been named conference coach of the year eight times, WBCA regional coach of the year 5 times, and WBCA national coach of the year twice.



Presnell’s honors to date:

15 - Total Coach of the Year honors

1 - WAC Coach of the Year honor (2007)

8 - Total Conference Coach of the Year honors

1 - Russell Athletic / WBCA NCAA Div. I Regional Coach of the Year honor (2007)

4 - WBCA NCAA Div. II Regional Coach of the Year honors

2 - WBCA NCAA Div. II National Coach of the Year honors


This year, Presnell led his team to a school record 24 wins (24-8) heading into this week’s NCAA National Tournament, the WAC regular season co-championship, and the program’s first ever conference tournament title with the Broncos’ 49-46 win last Saturday over New Mexico State in the WAC championship game in Las Cruces, New Mexico. Boise State will find out who they will meet and where they will play in the NCAA tournament tonight, Monday at 6:00 p.m.



Below are the Russell Athletic/WBCA Regional Coaches of the Year winners listed by division:


2007 NCAA Division I Honorees

Region Coach - Institution


1 Geno Auriemma - University of Connecticut

2 Gail Goestenkors - Duke University

3 Pat Summitt - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

4 Curt Miller - Bowling Green State University

5 Rick Insell - Middle Tennessee State University

6 Sharon Versyp - Purdue University

7 Gordy Presnell - Boise State University

8 Tara VanDerveer - Stanford University



The winners are selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. If a coach has been selected as Regional Coach of the Year, they advance as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other Regional Coaches of the Year in their respective division. The number of coaches varies depending on affiliation.


The winners of the WBCA National Coach of the Year for each division will be honored on Monday, April 2, 2007, at 12:00 p.m. (ET) during the Russell Athletic/WBCA Coach of the Year Luncheon presented by AstraZeneca in the Crowne Plaza’s Grand Ballroom. The luncheon is part of the 2007 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®.


About Russell Athletic


For more than 100 years, Russell Athletic has been designing and producing the most innovative, most comfortable apparel to help athletes at all levels perform their best. From the youth practice fields, to premier collegiate teams, to the most respected professional arenas, whenever you see athletes and teams who demand the highest quality, exceptional durability, and extreme comfort, you’ll find Russell Athletic.


Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women’s basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit


» «