Weaver and Rodriguez Ortego Garner MW Honors

March 9, 2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West Conference released its list of women's basketball postseason honors this afternoon and among those named were Boise State's Deanna Weaver and Yaiza Rodriguez Ortego who racked up multiple honors each.

Weaver a junior wing from Santa Clara, Calif., became eligible to play just before league started after sitting out the fall because of NCAA transfer rules. She made an immediate impression on the conference coaches who named her MW Newcomer of the Year. However, that was not it for the Oregon transfer who earned a trio of honors including first-team all-conference and all-defensive team honors.

During league play Weaver led the team in scoring at 13.2 points per game, rebounding at 6.5 rpg, blocks with 12 and steals with 32. She was ranked 12th in the conference for both scoring and rebounding, as well as tied for second in steals.

Yaiza Rodriguez Ortego was one of a five freshmen on a young Bronco roster this season. The native of Spain started every game at point guard for Boise State making a name for herself during league play to earn Co-Freshman of the Year honors with Colorado State's Ellen Nystrom. Like Weaver, Rodriguez Ortego earned multiple honors also being named to the MW All-Freshmen Team.

Rodriguez, a rookie from Barcelona, Spain, averaged 9.9 points, 2.4 rebounds, 3.4 assists and 1.2 steals per game in Mountain West play. She shot 38.0 percent from the field, 37 percent from beyond the arc and 80.4 percent from the free throw line. Her assist average ranked 10th in league play, while her free throw percentage was sixth and 3-point percentage was 11th among all players.

The Boise State duo will lead their team into Tuesday's Reese's Mountain West Championships against the Wyoming Cowgirls at 3:30 p.m. (Mountain) in the four-versus-five contest.

2013-14 All-Mountain West Honors

First-Team All-Mountain West
Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F, Boise State
&Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State
Cierra Warren, Sr., C, San Diego State
Jennifer Schlott, Sr., G, Utah State
&^Kayla Woodward, Jr., F, Wyoming

Second-Team All-Mountain West
&^!Sam Martin, Sr., F, Colorado State
AJ Newton, Jr., G, Colorado State
Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State
Gritt Ryder, Jr., G, Colorado State
Bree Farley, Sr., G, Fresno State
&Danika Sharp, Sr., G, Nevada

Honorable Mention
Arielle Wideman, Sr., G, Nevada
Antiesha Brown, Jr., G, New Mexico
Ta'Rea Cunnigan, Jr., G, San José State
Alana Cesarz, Jr., F, UNLV
Fallon Lewis, Sr., G, Wyoming

All-Defensive Team
Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F, Boise State
Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State
Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State
Mimi Mungedi, Jr., C, Nevada
Elise Nelson, Jr., G, Utah State

All-Freshmen Team
Yaiza Rodriguez, Fr., G, Boise State
Elin Gustavsson, Fr., G, Colorado State
Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State
Ariell Bostick, Fr., G, San Diego State
Jasmine Smith, Fr., F, San José State

Player of the Year: Jennifer Schlott, Sr., G, Utah State
Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State; Mimi Mungedi, Jr., C, Nevada
Co-Freshman of the Year: Yaiza Rodriguez, G, Boise State; Ellen Nystrom, G, Colorado State
Newcomer of the Year: Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F Boise State
Sixth Player of the Year: Caitlin Duffy, So., G, Colorado State
Coach of the Year: Ryun Williams, Colorado State

& 2012-13 All-MW/Defensive team selection
^ 2011-12 All-MW/Defensive team selection
! 2010-11 All-MW/Defensive team selection

» «