Harris, Marshall and Lenhardt Earn WAC Women's Basketball Postseason Honors...

BOISE, Idaho (3/7/2010) - The Western Athletic Conference announced its women’s basketball postseason honors this afternoon and among those recognized were Boise State’s Tasha Harris, Julia Marshall and Lauren Lenhardt. Harris was named to the All-WAC first team while the two freshmen, Marshall and Lenhardt, were named to the WAC All-Freshmen Team. Harris is the first Bronco ever to been named All-WAC first team twice during her career, while Marshall and Lenhardt join a long list of Boise State players to make the all-freshmen team.

For Harris the All-WAC recognition is the most recent honor of many during her outstanding career at Boise State. The senior from Longmont, Colo., finished her home career yesterday afternoon leading the Broncos to an upset of second-place Louisiana Tech 74-65 on senior day in Taco Bell Arena with a team-high 18 points, seven rebounds and team-best seven assists.  This is the second time in Harris’ career that she has been named to the All-WAC first team earning the same award following the 2007-08 campaign as a junior. This year’s honor was based on a solid effort this season where she averaged a team-high 15.5 points, 5.8 rebounds, team-best 3.4 assists and 1.8 steals in 32.4 minutes per game. The senior finished the regular season ranked 4th in the WAC for scoring, 12th in rebounding, third in assists, eighth in steals, 10th in field goal percentage, 15th in 3-point percentage and first in free throw percentage. She also recorded double-figure points in 25 of 30 games this season for a total of 465 points on the season.

The WAC All-Freshman Team honors are the first postseason awards for both Julia Marshall and Lauren Lenhardt. For Marshall, a native of Wichita, Kan., she started in 19 of 29 contests this year averaging 5.5 points, 2.9 rebounds and 1.1 assists in 19.7 minutes per game. She recorded a total of 160 points, 84 rebounds and 31 assists. Meanwhile, Lenhardt started the last two games of the year and played in all 30 regular-season contests.  The freshman from Eagle, Idaho, averaged 4.3 points and 2.6 rebounds in 10.7 minutes per game. She recorded 130 points, 77 rebounds, 21 blocks and nine steals on the year.    

The trio will now lead Boise State to this week’s WAC Tournament in Reno, Nev., where they will meet the University of Nevada at 7:00 p.m. (Mountain) on Wednesday night. The 2010 WAC Tournament will be held March 10-13, at the Lawlor Events Center in Reno, Nev. The women’s tournament schedule includes four quarterfinal games on March 10, semifinals on March 12 and the championship game on March 13. Saturday’s title game will be televised live on ESPNU at 1 p.m. Pacific Time.


Western Athletic Conference
2009-10 Postseason Honors

All-WAC First Team            
Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech
Tasha Harris, Boise State
Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech
Tahnee Robinson, Nevada
Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State

All-WAC Second Team
Crystal Boyd, New Mexico State
Rachele Kloke, Idaho
Shavon Moore, Nevada
Hayley Munro, Fresno State
Amber White, Utah State
All-Defensive Team
Alice Coddington, Utah State
Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech
Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech
Shavon Moore, Nevada
Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State
All-Freshman Team
Banna Diop, Utah State
Lauren Lenhardt, Boise State
Julia Marshall, Boise State
Rosie Moult, Fresno State
Camila Rosen, New Mexico State

Player of the Year: Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech
Defensive Player of the Year: Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State
Newcomer of the Year: Tahnee Robinson, Nevada
Coach of the Year: Adrian Wiggins, Fresno State

» «