RENO, Nevada - Tyler Sherfey won five straight matches, including a victory over Josh Zupancic of Stanford University in the title match, as the Boise State University wrestler captured first place at the Reno Tournament of Champions.

Sherfey, ranked 20th at 157-pounds in this week’s USA Today/Intermat rankings, posted major decisions in two of his first four matches before facing the 17th ranked Zupancic in the finals. Sherfey won the championship in a 1-0 decision over the Cardinal wrestler.

One other Bronco wrestler also finished among the top four of his respective weight class when Nate Lee placed fourth at 174 pounds. Lee won his first two matches before falling to the consolation bracket in a 10-3 loss to 15th ranked Jeremy Larson. Lee again won two consecutive matches before 14th ranked Brandon Mason of Oklahoma State edged Lee 2-1 to place third.

Boise State’s Andy Patrick, ranked 15th in the heavyweight class, won three of his five matches with his only losses to ranked opponents - fifth ranked Ty Watterson of Oregon State and 13th ranked Jared Rosholt of Oklahoma State.

Following are complete Boise State results from the one day tournament.

133 - Levi Jones

Corey Vombaur (Wyo.) dec. Jones (BSU) 3-2

Conor Beebe (CMU) dec. Jones (BSU) 3-1

141 - Jeff Newby

Newby (BSU) dec. Nick Blackshaw (CSUF) 3-1

Matthew Schumm (CSUB) dec. Newby (BSU) 6-3

Bennie Garcia (CSUB) dec. Newby (BSU) 3-2

149 - Tommy Owen

Owen (BSU) pin Bo Icalia (SOU) 0:35

Brandon Doyle (CSUB) dec. Owen (BSU) 8-6

Owen (BSU) tech fall Jeremy McLaughlin (Oregon) 15-0

Derek Kiperberg (Oregon State) dec. Owen (BSU) 8-5

157 - Tyler Sherfey (First Place)

Sherfey (BSU) tech fall Ryan Corbett (COL) 17-0

Sherfey (BSU) dec. Jake Murphy (Purdue) 6-1

Sherfey (BSU) default Daniel Alejandro (CSUB)

Sherfey (BSU) major dec. Wayne French (Great Falls) 16-5

Sherfey (BSU) dec. Josh Zupancic (Stanford) 1-0

157 - Nick Bueter

Bueter (BSU) dec. Mike Lauer (SOU) 12-6

Bradon Gritz (MAN) major dec. Bueter (BSU) 15-3

Bueter (BSU) pin Ryan Corbet (COL) 1:39

Hayden Harrison (Embry-Riddle) dec. Bueter (BSU) 13-6

157 - Brad Muri

Muri (BSU) dec. Shaun Smith (Liberty) 3-1

Wayne French (Great Falls) pin Muri (BSU) 1:30

Muri (BSU) dec. Andy Hall (Oregon State) 9-4

Andy Keller (CMU) major dec. Muri (BSU) 12-4

165 - Luke Smith

Johnny Hendricks (Oklahoma State) major dec. Smith (BSU) 15-5

Smith (BSU) major dec. Dustin Olsen (Utah Valley) 11-2

Smith (BSU) major dec. Eric Brennan (COL) 10-1

Chad Porter (Liberty) pin Smith (BSU) 3:08

174 - Nate Lee (Fourth Place)

Lee (BSU) major dec. Ricky Farrell (SOU) 11-3

Lee (BSU) dec. Nick Hernandez (Cal Poly) 10-5

Jeremy Larson (Oregon) dec. Lee (BSU) 10-3

Lee (BSU) dec. Jake Johnson (Stanford) 5-2

Lee (BSU) default Bryan Bernal (Wyoming)

Brandon Mason (Oklahoma State) dec. Lee (BSU) 2-1

184 - Mike Casperson

Brandon Ceremello (CSUB) major dec. Casperson (BSU) 11-1

Casperson (BSU) dec. Robert Hazenbrug (Great Falls) 4-3

Joffre Lander (Embry-Riddle) dec. Casperson (BSU) 4-3

197 - Matt Casperson

Jared Boyer (Stanford) dec. Casperson (BSU) 3-1

Eliot Kelly (UC Davis) dec. Casperson (BSU) 4-3

197 - Ryan Allen

Allen (BSU) forfeit Abe Ewing (SOU)

Brent Parkey (OSU) dec. Allen (BSU) 3-2

Eliot Kelly (UC Davis) dec. Allen (BSU) 5-2

285 - Andy Patrick

Patrick (BSU) pin Bryan Stansbury (COL) 1:43

Patrick (BSU) major dec. Chris Dermon (Oregon) 14-4

Ty Watterson (Oregon State) dec. Patrick (BSU) 6-4

Patrick (BSU) dec. Patrick Walker (Liberty) 5-3

Jared Rosholt (Oklahoma State) default Patrick (BSU)

» «