LARAMIE, Wyoming - Boise State University opened its 2006-07 wrestling season on Saturday (Nov. 11) with four Broncos placing among the top three in their respective weight class at the annual Cowboy Open on the University of Wyoming campus.

Luke Smith and Andy Patrick won the consolation bracket of the 165 and heavyweight division, respectively, in the elite division of the one-day tournament, while Ryan Allen finished second at 197 pounds and Levi Jones finished third in the 133-pound weight class of the amateur division.

Following a quarterfinal loss, 9-4, to Zach Lee of Western State (Colo.), Smith won four straight matches in the consolation bracket defeating Taylor May from the University of Nebraska, 6-5 in the third place match.

Patrick advanced to the semifinals of the heavyweight class before losing to Tervel Diagnev of Nebraska, 1-0 to fall into the consolation bracket. Patrick won his next two matches including the third place match over Reece Hopkin from the University of Northern Colorado, 3-1.

Allen won three straight matches at 197 pounds in the amateur division before losing the championship match to Jake Smith of Wyoming, 4-1. Jones also won three straight matches in his weight class before Jimmy Savala of Chadron State (Neb.) handed him an 11-10 defeat in the semifinals of 133 pounds. Jones defeated Jesse Cruz of Western State, 2-1 to win the consolation bracket.

The Broncos travel to Medford, Oregon for their next competition when they travel to the Best of the West Tournament on Nov. 18 (Saturday).

Following are complete Boise State results

Elite Division

125 - Cory Fish

Lost by dec. to Ryan Dunn (Oregon), 9-8

Won by dec. over Devlon Webb (Chadron State), 7-1

Won by default injury over Anthony Hayes (Unatt.)

Lost by dec. to Nick Ramirez (Wyoming) 2-1

141 - Jeff Newby

Lost by dec. to Jeff Rutledge (Nebraska), 8-4

Won by dec. over Cash Coolidge (Nebraska), 5-3

Lost by dec. to Mattt Cripes (Air Force), 7-3

165 - Johnny Nunez

Lost by pin to Rob Plambeck (Nebraska) 3:06

165 - Luke Smith (Third Place)

Won by dec. over Devan Lewis (Northern Colorado), 9-4

Lost by dec. to Zach Lee (Western State), 9-4

Won by dec. over Chris Riding (New Mexico Highlands), 6-3

Won by technical fall over Bryan Cantrell (Oregon), 20-5

Won by dec. over Taylor May (Nebraska), 6-5

174 - Nate Lee

Won by major dec. over Dan Barrone (Wyoming), 13-2

Won by default injury over Evan Copeland (Adams State)

Lost by dec. to Brandon Browne (Unatt.), 4-2

Lost by dec. to Bryan Bernal (Wyoming), 2-1

184 - Mike Casperson

Lost by dec. to Levi Wofford (Nebraska), 6-4

Won by pin over Chet Slevin (Wyoming), 4:25

Won by dec. over Charlie Pipher (Western State), 10-4

Lost by dec. to Matt Farrell (Unatt.), 10-6

197 - Matt Casperson

Lost by dec. to Sam Wendland (Wyoming), 8-4

Lost by dec. to Josh Majerus (Chadron State), 8-4

Heavyweight - Andy Patrick (Third Place)

Won by dec. over Chris Dearmon (Oregon), 3-1

Won by dec. over Charles Saquil (New Mexico Highlands), 1-0

Lost by pin to Tervel Diagnev (Nebraska), 4:38

Won by dec. over Casey Woodall (Adams State), 9-4

Won by dec. over Recce Hopkin (Northern Colorado), 3-1

Amateur Division

133 - Levi Jones (Third Place)

Won by dec. over Brandon Gifford (Wyoming), 5-1

Won by dec. over A.J. Acebo (Northwest), 11-4

Won by dec. over Blake Risk (Great Falls), 7-0

Lost by dec. to Jimmy Savala (Chadron State), 11-10

Won by dec. over Ryan Hecker (Northwest), 3-2

Won by dec. over Jesse Cruz (Unatt.), 2-1

197 - Ryan Allen (Second Place)

Won by pin over Jake Burghardt (Chadron State) 0:47

Won by dec. over Scott Lucas (Unatt.), 4-1

Won by dec. over Brennen Knerr (Colorado School of Mines), 3-0

Lost by dec. to Jake Smith (Wyoming), 4-1

» «