Broncos Set for Start of 2014-15 Season
Chris Castillo is the Cowboy Open's defending champion at 149 pounds.
Nov. 7, 2014

BOISE, Idaho – The Boise State wrestling team is slated to open its 2014-15 season at the 37th Annual Cowboy Open Saturday, at War Memorial Fieldhouse in Laramie, Wyo. The tournament is scheduled to begin at 9 a.m.

The Cowboy Open is one of the largest tournaments in the West, featuring nearly 300 wrestlers and 14 teams. No team score will be kept, but champions will be crowned at each of the 10 weight classes in both the Elite and Amateur Brackets.

Competing for the Broncos in the Elite Bracket will be:

133 – Rami Haddadin
141 – Jake Velarde
149 – Chris Castillo
157 – Steven Hernandez and Taylor West
165 – Holden Packard
174 – Austin Dewey and Zach Coffman
184 – Cody Dixon
197 – Xavier Callejas and Harley DiLulo
285 – Gaylen Edmo

The Broncos will also send the following individuals to compete in the Amateur Bracket:

149 – Lucas Somera
157 – Brandon Brenenstahl

Live results will be available via TrackWrestling.

A live video stream of each mat will be available through Flowrestling, but a subscription is required.

CLICK HERE to follow the streams.

Boise State held an intrasquad scrimmage this past weekend, from which results can be found below:

133 - Michael Cook over Jared Johnshoy
141 - Geordan Martinez over Jake Velarde
157 - Steven Hernandez over Taylor West
165 - Chris Castillo over Holden Packard
174 - Austin Dewey over Zach Coffman
184 - Cody Dixon over Harley DiLulo
197 - Colton Grossaint over Keavon Buckley
285 - Gabriel Gonzalez over Gaylen Edmo

The Boise State wrestling team finished tied for 25th at last year’s NCAA Championships, but must replace four starters from the Pac-12 Championships, where it finished in third place. Included in the losses are J.T. Felix (285), a three-time NCAA Championships participant, and Jake Swartz (184), the 2013-14 Pac-12 Wrestler of the Year, a 2014 NCAA All-American and a four-time participant at the NCAA Championships.

The Broncos do return six starters and 12 letterwinners for 2014-15, and add 19 individuals to the roster (including redshirts). Of those 19, four will be competing at Saturday’s Cowboy Open – Jake Velarde, Harley DiLulo, Gaylen Edmo and Brandon Brenenstahl.

Castillo is the Elite Division’s defending champion at 149 pounds, one of two Broncos to claim individual titles at last year’s edition of the Cowboy Open. Then-senior J.T. Felix also won his weight class, pinning two before earning a major decision in the finals at heavyweight.

Travis Himmelman finished second at 141 pounds, and Rami Haddadin finished third at 125.

» «