Pac-10 Conference Coaches Vote Smith Wrestler of the Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-10 Conference announced its 2009-10 postseason wrestling awards, Thursday (April 1), which included another honor for Boise State's Kirk Smith who was voted Wrestler of the Year by the conference coaches. Smith is just the second Boise State wrestler in school history to earn Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year honors. Ben Cherrington was the first Bronco to do so in 2006.

            Smith, a Boise, Idaho (Centennial HS) native, capped an outstanding junior season for the Broncos with a runner-up finish in the 184 pound weight class at the 2010 NCAA National Championships. His second-place showing was the best finish by a 184-pound wrestler in school history. Along the way he also captured his second consecutive Pac-10 title.

            Smith finished the 2009-10 season with an incredible 28-1 overall record. His only loss of the season came in the national title match. With his second-place finish Smith earned All-American honors for the second time in his career. He also did so with an eighth-place finish as a freshman in 2008.

            Thursday's honor marks the second Pac-10 Conference Wrestler of the Year recognition for Smith this week. He was also named Pac-10 WOY by on Wednesday (March 31).

» «