BOISE, Idaho Boise State University’s Ben Cherrington and Tyler Sherfey have been named the 2006 Pac-10 Conference Wrestling of the Year and Newcomer of the Year, respectively.
                Cherrington’s award marks the first time in school history a Bronco has been named the Pac-10's wrestler of the year. Sherfey’s award marks the second straight year a Boise State wrestler was named the league’s newcomer of the year. Andrew Hochstrasser earned the award in 2005.
                A senior from Granby, Colorado, Cherrington completed his season undefeated at 20-0 and won the 157-pound title at the NCAA National Championships. Cherrington suffered a knee injury in early October of 2005, which required surgery. His first match of the season came on January 4 and he preceded to win 20 straight matches and his first national title.
                Along the way to his NCAA crown, Cherrington won his second Pac-10 Conference Championship. His first came as a junior in 2005 at the 149-pound weight division. He completes his Bronco career with an overall record of 93-32.
                Cherrington’s NCAA victory marked the second time in Boise State history a Bronco has own an individual national collegiate wrestling title. Kirk White, an assistant coach for the Broncos, won the 1999 crown at 165 pounds.
                Sherfey, a red-shirt freshman from Kennewick, Washington, earned the league’s newcomer award after finishing among the top 12 in the 149-pound weight class at the NCAA National Tournament. Sherfey placed second at the Pac-10 Tournament before making his first trip to the national collegiate tournament. He went 3-2 at the NCAA Tournament in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to end his first year of collegiate competition with an overall record of 30-11.

» «