Pac-12 Wrestling Championships: Bronco Central

March 2, 2014


No. 2 Rami Haddadin (BSU) major dec. Sergio Mendez (CSUB), 8-0
No. 2 Rami Haddadin (BSU) dec. Britain Longmire (CP), 10-7
No. 1 Evan Silver (STAN) dec. No. 2 Rami Haddadin, 8-6

No. 4 Joey Palmer (OSU) fall Ben DeMeulle (BSU), 5:38
No. 3 Jose Mendoza (CSUB) major dec. Ben DeMeulle (BSU), 12-4
Kalin Goodsite (ASU) major dec. Ben DeMeulle (BSU), 13-2

No. 4 Brian Owen (BSU) fall Jacob Leon (Cal Poly), 1:06
No. 1 Ian Nickell (CSUB) disqualification No. 4 Brian Owen (BSU)
No. 4 Brian Owen (BSU) dec. Matt Garelli (STAN), 8-3
No. 2 Matt Kraus (ASU) dec. No. 4 Brian Owen, 5-4

No. 3 Chris Castillo (BSU), BYE
No. 3 Chris Castillo (BSU) dec. Kyle Chene (CP), 3-2
No. 1 Scott Sakaguchi (OSU) dec. No. 3 Chris Castillo (BSU), 7-5

Steven Hernandez (BSU) fall No. 4 Peter Galli (STAN), 0:57
No. 1 RJ Pena (OSU) major dec. Steven Hernandez (BSU), 9-1
Steven Hernandez (BSU) dec. Xavier Johnson (CP), 9-4
Steven Hernandez (BSU) dec. No. 3 Spencer Hill (CSUB), 5-1

No. 3 David Meza (CSUB) dec. Holden Packard (BSU), 3-2
No. 4 Toney Chay (OSU) dec. Holden Packard (BSU), 3-1
Holden Packard (BSU) major dec. Travis Berridge (CP), 16-5

No. 1 Bryce Hammond (CSUB) fall Austin Dewey (BSU), 2:53
Austin Dewey (BSU) injury default No. 2 Dominic Kastl (CP)
No. 4 Kyle Meyer (STAN) dec. Austin Dewey (BSU), 9-3

No. 2 Jake Swartz (BSU) tech. fall Sean Pollack (CSUB), 20-5
No. 2 Jake Swartz (BSU) dec. No. 3 Austin Morehead (OSU), 6-2
No. 2 Jake Swartz (BSU) dec. No. 1 Blake Stauffer (ASU), 3-2

No. 3 Cody Dixon (BSU) dec. Nicolas Johnson (Cal Poly), 9-3
No. 2 Dan Scherer (STAN) dec. No. 3 Cody Dixon (BSU), 7-1
Josh DaSilveira (ASU) dec. No. 3 Cody Dixon (BSU), 3-2
No. 3 Cody Dixon (BSU) dec. Nicolas Johnson (CP), 12-5

No. 1 J.T. Felix (BSU), BYE
No. 1 J.T. Felix (BSU) fall No. 4 Josh Marchok (STAN), 1:34
No. 1 J.T. Felix (BSU) dec. No. 2 Amarveer Dhesi (OSU), 7-1

STANFORD, Calif. - The Boise State wrestling team will send four individuals to the finals of the Pac-12 Championships, scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. (MT). With 103.5 team points following the first session, Boise State is in second place.

Oregon State leads the tournament with 116 points, and has six individuals in the finals.

Rami Haddadin (125), Chris Castillo (149), Jake Swartz (184) and J.T. Felix (285) will each wrestle for the Pac-12 Championship in their respective weight classes.

The finals will be televised live on the Pac-12 Networks.

The Broncos had seven wrestlers advance to the semifinals, but Brian Owen (141), Steven Hernandez (157) and Cody Dixon (197) each dropped their semifinal match.

After winning his opening match via major decision (8-0) over CSU Bakersfield's Sergio Mendez, Haddadin found himself trailing Cal Poly's Britain Longmire 6-3 after the first period of his semifinal match. With 15 seconds remaining in the second, he tied it at 6-6 with a takedown, then recorded a three-point near fall in the final minute of the third.

Haddadin ultimately won 10-7, advancing to his first Pac-12 title match.

Castillo received an opening-round bye, then defeated Kyle Chene of Cal Poly (3-2), also advancing to his first-career Pac-12 title match.

Swartz will be looking for his third-straight Pac-12 championship after earning a technical fall over CSU Bakersfield's Sean Pollack (20-5), and a 6-2 decision over Oregon State's Austin Morehead.

Felix received an opening-round bye, then pinned Josh Marchok of Stanford in 1:34 to advance to the championship. This is his third trip to the finals, but he will be looking for his first conference title after falling in the championship as a freshman in 2011 and as a junior in 2013.

The wrestleback is scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. (MT).

» «