Bronco Trio Advances to Finals
Feb. 27, 2016

Updated Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

TEMPE, Ariz. – The Boise State wrestling team advanced three individuals to the finals in the first session of the 2016 Pac-12 Championships at Wells Fargo Arena, Saturday.

Sophomore Geordan Martinez (149), redshirt senior Chris Castillo (157) and redshirt junior Austin Dewey (174) will each wrestle under the lights on the center mat in the final session of the 54th edition of the conference tournament.

Martinez, the No. 2 seed, received a first-round bye, then dispatched of CSU Bakersfield’s Coleman Hammond, advancing to the title bout with a 9-1 major decision. Hammond was the tournament’s third seed.

Castillo, also a No. 2 seed, won a pair of matches en route to the finals. He opened with a technical fall over Stanford’s Peter Russo (17-2; 6:34), then won a 2-1 decision over the third seed in his bracket, Colt Shorts of Cal Poly.

Dewey upset the No. 2 seed in overtime en route to the championship, picking up a takedown to earn a 5-2 win (SV-1) over Travis Berridge of Cal Poly. He also downed Tyler Chay of Oregon State in the opening round (9-2).

Boise State nearly put two more in the finals at 125 and 133.

Rami Haddadin (125) fell to top-seeded Connor Schram of Stanford in the semifinals, 5-4. Haddadin held a 4-3 advantage, but was taken down with less than 20 seconds remaining in the match.

Carson Kuhn (133), seeded third, also lost a close semifinal match, dropping a 10-7 decision to the No. 2 seed, Joey Palmer of Oregon State. Kuhn registered the first pin of the Pac-12 Championships, sticking Cal Poly’s Jason DelaCruz in the opening round (2:24).

The Broncos are in fifth place following the conclusion of the first session with 69.5 points. Arizona State leads the tournament (86), followed by Oregon State (85), CSU Bakersfield (76) and Stanford (75). Cal Poly is in sixth with 44 points.

Complete results from the first session can be found below, and an updated bracket can be found at the top of this page. The consolation semifinals are scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. (MT), and the finals are scheduled for 6 p.m.

Live video for the consolation semifinals is available HERE, and the finals will be broadcast live on the Pac-12 Networks.

(1) Connor Schram (STAN) dec. (4) Rami Haddadin (BSU), 5-4

(3) Carson Kuhn (BSU) fall Jason DelaCruz (CP), 2:24
(2) Joey Palmer (OSU) dec. (3) Carson Kuhn (BSU), 10-7

(1) Joey McKenna (STAN) fall Josh Newberg (BSU), 6:36

(2) Geordan Martinez (BSU) major dec. (3) Coleman Hammond (CSUB), 9-1

(2) Chris Castillo (BSU) tech. fall Peter Russo (STAN), 17-2 (6:34)
(2) Chris Castillo (BSU) dec. (3) Colt Shorts (CP), 2-1

(1) Jim Wilson (STAN) dec. (4) Taylor West (BSU), 9-3

(3) Austin Dewey (BSU) dec. Tyler Chay (OSU), 9-2
(3) Austin Dewey (BSU) dec. (2) Travis Berridge (CP), 5-2 (SV-1)

(4) Mitch Woods (CP) dec. Zach Coffman (BSU), 5-3

(2) Josh DaSilveira (ASU) fall Kadyn Del Toro (BSU), 2:57

(1) Amar Dhesi (OSU) fall Gabriel Gonzalez (BSU), 2:22

» «