Broncos Top Stanford 29-15

PALO ALTO, Calif. - The No. 8 (NWCA/USA Today) Boise State wrestling team improved its' Pac-10 Conference record to 5-0 on Friday night (Jan. 29) as the Broncos earned a 29-15 win against Stanford in Palo Alto, Calif.

The Broncos (12-2 overall, 5-0 Pac-10) won six matches out of just seven that were actually wrestled. Stanford (8-6, 3-0) earned points on Boise State forfeits at 133 pounds and 197 pounds, while the Broncos also earned six points on a Stanford forfeit in the heavyweight match. Of the seven matches wrestled, Boise State only dropped one.

Alan Bartelli earned the first points for the Broncos with a 4-0 decision over Ryan Mango at 125 pounds. After the 133-pound forfeit, the Broncos retook the lead at 9-6 with a win by fall from No. 6 (InterMat) Levi Jones over Bret Baumbach at the 6:58 mark of the 141-pound match.

Jones was followed by No. 6 Jason Chamberlain who recorded a 21-8 major decisoin against Tyler Parker at 149 pounds. No. 2 ranked Adam Hall wrestled to the second major decision of the night with a 16-8 win against Mike Kent at 157 pounds.

After dropping the 165-pound match, No. 11 Nate Lee extended the Boise State lead with a 4-0 decision over Jake Johnson at 174 pounds. No. 1 Kirk Smith then wrestled to a hard fought win at 184 pounds, beating No. 12 Zack Giesen with a 4-1 decision.

Both teams scored another six team points with forfeits at 197 and HWT to make the final score 29-15.

Boise State will conclude its' two dual road trip on Saturday when the Broncos travel to Davis, Calif. for a 7 p.m. (PST) matchup with the UC Davis Aggies.

Boise State 29, Stanford 15
125: Alan Bartelli (BSU) dec. Ryan Mango (S), 4-0
133: Justin Paulsen (S) won by forfeit
141: No. 6 Levi Jones (BSU) fall 6:58 Bret Baumbach (S)
149: No. 6 Jason Chamberlain (BSU) maj. dec. Tyler Parker (S), 21-8
157: No. 2 Adam Hall (BSU) maj. dec. Mike Kent (S), 16-8
165: Nick Amuchastegui (S) dec. Michael Cuthbertson (BSU), 4-0
174: No. 11 Nate Lee (BSU) dec. Jake Johnson (S), 8-3
184: No. 1 Kirk Smith (BSU) dec. No. 12 Zack Giesen (S), 4-1
197: Richard Kessler (S) won by forfeit
HWT: Sam Zylstra (BSU) won by forfeit

» «