Meredith Named WAC Player of the Year; Pogostkin Earns Top Freshman Honor

FRESNO, Calif. - The 2010 Western Athletic Conference men's tennis award winners were announced, Thursday (April 29) night, which included Boise State's James Meredith being named the WAC Player of the Year and Filipp Pogostkin earning Freshman of the Year honors.

Meredith, a sophomore from Christchurch, New Zealand (Christchurch Boys HS), posted a 24-7 overall record this regular season playing at No. 1 singles for the Broncos. He went a perfect 5-0 against WAC opponents and boasted a 9-3 record against nationally ranked opponents. He spent the entire season ranked nationally by the ITA and finished the regular season at No. 47. He also enjoyed a steady season of doubles play for Boise State, playing at No. 1 singles in every dual despite playing with six different partners throughout the spring.

Pogostkin, a freshman from Bellevue, Wash. (Horizon Charter School), was also an integral part of Boise State's success this year playing primarily at No. 3 and No. 4 singles. He finished the regular season with a 23-13 overall record, playing in the second most dual matches of anyone on the team.

The Broncos also placed several student-athletes on this year's all-conference teams, starting with Meredith and Vicente Joli being named first-team All-WAC singles. Meredith and teammate Jeff Mullen were also voted first-team All-WAC doubles. Joli and Pogostkin rounded out the group of all-conference nominations with a second-team All-WAC selection in doubles.

Boise State will look to recapture its spot on top of the WAC at this weekend's conference championships in Fresno, Calif. The No. 3 seed Broncos open up WAC tournament play today (April 30) with a first round matchup against No. 6 New Mexico State at 2 p.m. (CST).

2010 WAC Men's Tennis Award Winners
First Team All-WAC Singles
Wessim Derbel, Nevada
Laurent Garcin, Nevada
Vicente Joli, Boise State
Dennis Lajola, Hawai'i
James Meredith, Boise State
Andreas Weber, Hawai'i

First Team All-WAC Doubles
Remi Boutillier/Rikus de Villiers, Fresno State
Philip Eberhard/Andreas Weber, Hawai'i
James Meredith/Jeff Mullen, Boise State

Second Team All-WAC Singles
Jim Brouleau, New Mexico State
Remi Boutillier, Fresno State
Rikus de Villiers, Fresno State
Lachlan Reed, Idaho
Leo Rosenberg, Hawai'i
Mirko Zapletal, Fresno State

Second Team All-WAC Doubles
Jim Brouleau/Orlando Superlano, New Mexico State
Vicente Joli/Filipp Pogostkin, Boise State
Lachlan Reed/Adrian Simon, Idaho

WAC Player of the Year:
James Meredith, Boise State
WAC Freshman of the Year: Filipp Pogostkin, Boise State
WAC Coach of the Year: John Nelson, Hawai'i

» «