Bettles Named WAC Freshman of the Year; Broncos Earn Multiple All-Conference Honors

BOISE, Idaho - On Thursday (April 28) night the Boise State men's tennis team earned individual recognition for its success on the courts this spring, as four Broncos received All-Western Athletic Conference honors to go along with Andy Bettles being named WAC Freshman of the Year.

Bettles, a Somerset, England (Reeds School) native, earned the Freshman of the Year award after compiling an outstanding first season at Boise State. After starting the spring at No. 6 in the singles rotation Bettles worked his way to the top of the lineup, playing No. 1 in Boise State's last three regular season matches. He would finish the regular season with a 20-6 overall record, including a perfect 5-0 record against WAC opponents. He also teamed up with Filipp Pogostkin to earn a 17-6 doubles record in dual competition.

Joining Bettles with conference honors are Damian Hume, Scott Sears, Jeff Mullen and Nathan Sereke. Hume led the way for Boise State in singles and doubles this season, as he was named first team All-WAC in both. He teamed up with Sears to earn the all-conference doubles nod. Mullen and Sereke, meanwhile, were voted second team All-WAC in doubles after a strong season playing at No. 2 for the Broncos.

Boise State opens its run at the 2011 WAC Championships hosted by Boise State University on Friday (April 28) with a quarterfinal showdown against No. 5 seed Hawai'i. The No. 4 Broncos will meet the Warriors at 6 p.m. at the BOAS Indoor Tennis Center.

2011 WAC Men's Tennis Award Winners

First Team All-WAC Singles

Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

Marius Cirstea, Idaho

Rikus de Villiers, Fresno State

Damian Hume, Boise State

Dennis Lajola, Hawai'i

Lachlan Reed, Idaho

First Team All-WAC Doubles

Rikus de Villiers/Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

Damian Hume/Scott Sears, Boise State

Dennis Lajola/Jon Brooklyn, Hawai'i

Second Team All-WAC Singles

Jakob Asplund, Utah State

Jim Brouleau, New Mexico State

Wessim Derbel, Nevada

Leo Rosenberg, Hawai'i

Orlando Superlano, New Mexico State

Arthur Surreaux, New Mexico State

Second Team All-WAC Doubles

Jim Brouleau/Matej Stakne, New Mexico State

Bryan Marchant/Sven Poslusny, Utah State

Jeff Mullen/Nathan Sereke, Boise State

WAC Player of the Year: Dennis Lajola, Hawai'i

WAC Freshman of the Year: Andy Bettles, Boise State

WAC Coach of the Year: Jay Udwadia, Fresno State

» «