Boise State Hosts MW Championship

April 25, 2017

Tournament Bracket  |  MW Tournament Central
MW Twitter  #MWMTEN  |  MW Facebook  |   MW Instagram  |  MW SnapChat  |  MW YouTube  

Friday, April 28: Quarterfinals

  • 9 a.m. MT - No. 3 UNLV vs. No. 6 Nevada
  • 12 p.m. MT - No. 2 Fresno State vs. No. 7 Air Force
  • 3 p.m. MT - No. 4 New Mexico vs. No. 5 San Diego State
  • 6 p.m. MT - No. 1 Utah State vs. No. 8 Boise State

Saturday, April 29: Semifinals

  • 2 p.m. MT - Winners of Quarterfinal 1 vs. Quarterfinal 2
  • 6 p.m. MT - Winners of Quarterfinal 3 vs. Quarterfinal 4

Sunday, April 30: Championship

  • 1:30 p.m. MT - Championship


  • MW Quarterfinal: No. 1 Utah State (20-8, 6-1 MW) vs No. 8 Boise State (5-23, 1-6 MW)
  • Date & Time: April 28 (Friday) | at 6 p.m. (MT)
  • Location: at Boise, Idaho
  • Facility (if weather is good): Appleton Tennis Center, on campus next to Taco Bell Arena
  • Facility (if it rains): Boas Indoor Tennis Center, 1507 S. Oakland Ave


  • Parking for all matches is FREE and will be in the west stadium lot between Taco Bell Arena and Albertsons Stadium.
  • Patrons will need to print off a ticket from one of the kiosks located throughout the lot and place on your dash.
  • Please remember your parking space number since it will have to be entered at the kiosk.
  • You will be able to select parking for the tennis match at the kiosk and there will be no cost.

Prices Per Day

  • $5 for Adults
  • $3 for students, including Boise State students with ID and high school or younger. 



  • Boise State is hosting the 2017 Mountain West Championship at the Appleton Tennis Center this Friday through Sunday.

  • The Broncos (5-23, 1-6 MW) will open the tournament as the No. 8 seed and face top seeded Utah State (20-8, 6-1 MW) at 6 p.m. Friday night in the final quarterfinal of the day.

  • The winner of Boise State-Utah State contest will face the winner of Friday’s No. 4 New Mexico versus No. 5 San Diego State match at 6 p.m. on Saturday in the second semifinal.

  • This is a single elimination tournament.

  • At stake for the Broncos is the MW’s automatic berth into the NCAA National Tournament May 13-23.


  • Boise State closed out its regular season this past Saturday with a 4-1 home loss to Utah State. 

  • Jack Heslin led Boise State with a win at No. 3 singles in the loss to Mountain West champion Utah State, his win was the lone point the Broncos could manage to get versus the Aggies. 


  • Leading the way in singles for Boise State are Jack Heslin (So., Auckland, New Zealand) who is 19-13 overall and 12-10 in duals splitting time primarily between courts two and three ... Brian Tran (Fr., Greystanes, Australia) is 14-12 on the year and 11-11 in duals playing mostly at No. 2 and 3 singles ... Kyle Butters (So., Wanganui, New Zealand) has played No. 1 singles in nearly every match this year going 7-11 in duals to go with a 13-15 overall record this year. 

  • Leading the team in doubles play is the tandem of Kyle Butters and Jack Heslin who are 13-10 together playing and 6-7 at the number one position this spring. 

  • The Broncos have one of the youngest rosters in the NCAA featuring five sophomores and three freshmen, no upperclassmen.


  • Utah State enters the week ranked 45th nationally with a 20-8 overall record and a 5-1 conference mark ... a win Saturday over the Broncos would give them back-to-back MW regular season titles. 

  • Three players have seen time at No. 1 singles with Kai Wehnelt seeing the most action going 8-8 with a 25-15 overall record on the year ... Jack Swindells has played primarily at No. 2 singles going 8-5 at the position and is 24-13 on the year. 

  • The team of Samuel Serrano and Kai Wehnelt are 12-7 at No. 1 doubles and 20-8 as a pair on the year. 


  • The Broncos have advanced to the MW Championship title match every year since joining the league for the 2012 campaign winning the first four championships before finishing as the runner up in 2016. 

  • Boise State lost to UNLV 4-3 in the 2016 championship match played at Las Vegas ... the Broncos reached the title match with victories over Nevada (4-1) in quarterfinals and San Diego State (4-2) in the semifinals. 

  • Boise State is currently 13-1 all-time in this event ... six of the 13 victories have been by 4-0 sweeps.

  • Boise State’s four MW Championship titles are the most of any team in league history.


  • Since the 1982 Big Sky Conference Tournament, Boise State has gone 89-37 all-time at conference championship tournaments.

  • From 1970-1992 the Big Sky Conference Tournament was a round-robin format.

  • Starting with the 1993 Big Sky Tournament all of the conference championship events (all leagues) in conferences Boise State has been a member of have been a bracket format ... since that time Boise State has reached at least the semifinal round every year and has gone 51-9 in conference tournaments.


  • Since 1993 (bracket format for tournaments) the Broncos have reached 17 conference championship matches, they are 15-2 in those contests ... 13-2 under head coach Greg Patton.

  • Boise State has won a combined 16 conference tournament championships in program history.

  • Big Sky Conference (5) 1974, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996

  • Big West Conference (3) 1997, 1999, 2000

  • Western Athletic Conference (4) 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007

  • Mountain West (4) 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015

  • They also won the 2009 WAC regular season title.


  • Greg Patton enters his 21st season at Boise State where he has posted a 448-197 record while winning 14 conference championships in three different conferences.

  • This is the General’s 37th season as a collegiate head coach ... Patton has put together an impressive 799-390 record, which currently ranks him first nationally for most wins by an active NCAA Division I men’s tennis coach and fourth all-time.

  • Since returning to Boise State in 2003, Patton guided the team to four Mountain West Tournament Championships (2012-15) during its first five seasons in the conference. He also earned Western Athletic Conference titles in four of nine seasons (2003, 2005-07), as well as a WAC regular-season championship in 2009.

» «