Broncos Head to MW Championship
April 24, 2018


Mountain West Conference Championships
April 26-28 at San Diego, Calif. (Aztec Tennis Center)

Quarterfinals: #8 Boise State (9-18, 1-6 MW) vs. #1 Utah State (16-8, 7-0 MW)
Date | Time: April 26 (Thursday) | 10 a.m. (MT)
Live StatsLive Video

If Broncos win Thursday...
Semifinals: #8 Boise State (9-18, 1-6 MW) vs. UNLV or Nevada
Date | Time: April 27 (Friday) | 12 p.m. (MT)

If Broncos win Friday...
Championship: #8 Boise State (9-18, 1-6 MW) vs. TBD
Date | Time: April 28 (Saturday) | 2 p.m. (MT)

MW Championship Central  |  MW Twitter  #MWMTEN  |  MW Facebook  |   MW Instagram  |  MW SnapChat 

Boise State Roster  |  Boise State Season Stats  |  Boise State Twitter  |  Boise State Facebook

WHAT’S HAPPENING: Boise State (9-18, 1-6 MW) heads to the Mountain West Championship this week which starts on Thursday at San Diego, Calif. The eighth-seeded Broncos will face MW regular-season champion Utah State (16-8, 7-0 MW) in the tournament opener at 10 a.m. (Mountain) Thursday at San Diego State’s Aztec Tennis Center. USU won the regular-season encounter at Logan 4-0 on Feb. 4.

If the Broncos win on Thursday they would advance into Friday’s semifinals against the winner of fourth-seeded UNLV and fifth-seeded Nevada at 2 p.m. (Mountain).

LAST TIME OUT: Boise State closed out the regular season with a tough 4-3 loss to Idaho at the Appleton Tennis Center last Saturday night. The Broncos rallied from 2-0 down to take a 3-2 lead with singles victories from Max Blancaneaux (6-1, 6-4) on court six; Kyle Butters rallied from 4-1 down in set one to win No. 2 singles 6-4, 6-4; while Wyatt DeMulling won on court four 6-2, 1-6, 6-4. Unfortunately, Idaho rallied with two three-set victories on courts three and five to claim the win.

LEADING IN SINGLES: In singles play the Broncos are led by Jack Heslin (9-10 at No. 1) and Kyle Butters (6-5 at No. 2) who are playing the top two positions, Heslin has won six of his last 10 matches. Pedro Platzeck (13-14) has the top overall singles record on the year.

LEADING IN DOUBLES: The doubles lineup has seen a lot of experimenting over the course of the season because of youth, new faces and injuries. The top doubles tandem has been Platzeck and Stefan Lalovic who are currently 19-14 and 8-7 at the No. 2 position. Butters and Jack Heslin have played No. 1 doubles most of the season and are 9-11 on court one.

GENERAL PATTON: The “General,” head coach Greg Patton enters the year ranked No. 1 in career wins nationally among active collegiate coaches and fourth all-time at 808-408. His win percentage is .665 all-time and .678 at Boise State (457-217).


  • The Broncos have advanced to the MW Championship title match n five of the six years since joining the league for the 2012 campaign, they won the first four championships before finishing as the runner up in 2016. 
  • Last year, Boise State fell 4-0 to Utah State during the quarterfinals at the 2017 championship in Boise. 
  • Boise State is currently 13-2 all-time in the MW Championship ... six of the 13 victories have been by 4-0 sweeps.
  • Boise State’s four MW Championship titles are the most of any team in league history.


  • Since the 1982 Big Sky Conference Tournament, Boise State has gone 89-37 all-time at conference championship tournaments.
  • From 1970-1992 the Big Sky Conference Tournament was a round-robin format.
  • Starting with the 1993 Big Sky Tournament all of the conference championship events (all leagues) in conferences Boise State has been a member of have been a bracket format ... since that time Boise State has reached at least the semifinal round every year and has gone 51-9 in conference tournaments.


  • Since 1993 (bracket format for tournaments) the Broncos have reached 17 conference championship matches, they are 15-2 in those contests ... 13-2 under head coach Greg Patton.
  • Boise State has won a combined 16 conference tournament championships in program history.
  • Big Sky Conference (5) 1974, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996
  • Big West Conference (3) 1997, 1999, 2000
  • Western Athletic Conference (4) 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007
  • Mountain West Conference (4) 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
  • They also won the 2009 WAC regular season title.

» «