Broncos Garner Assortment of 2009 Men's and Women's Tennis All-WAC Awards

BOISE, Idaho The Boise State men’s and women’s tennis teams had a solid collecting of Western Athletic Conference awards at the 2009 WAC Championships, garnering one player of the year award, one coach of the year award, two freshman of the year awards and 10 All-WAC first and second team honorees.


The men’s team made a full sweep of the yearly awards with Greg Patton being named the 2009 WAC Coach of the Year. Senior Clancy Shields garnered his first career WAC Player of the Year title while freshman James Meredith was dubbed 2009 WAC Freshman of the Year.


The Bronco men landed Shields, Meredith and senior Kean Feeder on the All-WAC first team for singles while Meredith and Feeder garnered a doubles first team nod as well. Shields was joined by senior Stanley Sarapanich in being named to the doubles second team All-WAC.


On the women’s side, freshman Vivien Silfany earned the highest individual award for the Broncos, snagging the 2009 WAC Freshman of the Year honor. Junior Pichittra Thongdach and sophomore Lauren Megale were named first team All-WAC in singles while the pair also snagged an All-WAC first team honor in doubles. Silfany was named to the singles All-WAC second team and was joined by senior Klaudia Wlodarczyk in garnering a second team All-WAC honor in doubles.


Men’s All-WAC Honors:

Player of the Year Clancy Shields, Boise State

Freshman of the Year James Meredith, Boise State

Coach of the Year Greg Patton, Boise State


First Team All-WAC


James Meredith, Fr., Boise State

Laurent Garcin, Jr., Nevada

Dennis Lajola, So., Hawaii

Kean Feeder, Sr., Boise State

Rudy Siwy, Sr., Fresno State

Clancy Shields, Sr., Boise State



Eduardo Salas/Roman Stoisavljevic, New Mexico State

Kean Feeder/James Meredith, Boise State

Rudy Siwy/Mirko Zapletal, Fresno State


Second Team All-WAC


Sascha Heinemann, Sr., Hawaii

Stanislav Glukhov, Jr., Idaho

Andreas Weber, Jr., Hawaii

Mirko Zapletal, Jr., Fresno State

Wessim Derbel, Fr., Nevada

Jim Brouleau, So., New Mexico State



Hugh McDonald/Alex Joitoiu, Idaho

Rikus de Villiers/Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

Stanley Sarapanich/Clancy Shields, Boise State


Women’s All-WAC Honors:

Player of the Year Melanie Gloria, Fresno State

Freshman of the Year Vivien Silfany, Boise State

Coach of the Year Simon Thibodeau, Fresno State


First Team All-WAC


Lauren Megale, So., Boise State

Caroline Bailly, Sr., Nevada

Pichittra Thongdach, Jr., Boise State

Renata Kucerkova, Jr., Fresno State

Anastasia Petukhova, Jr., Fresno State

Melanie Gloria, Sr., Fresno State



Lauren Megale/Pichittra Thongdach, Boise State

Melanie Gloria/Tinesta Rowe, Fresno State

Anastasia Petukhova/Renata Kucerkova, Fresno State


Second Team All-WAC


Sophie Kobuch, Jr., Hawaii

Maria Mizyuk, Jr., Nevada

Tinesta Rowe, Sr., Fresno State

Vivien Silfany, Fr., Boise State

Maria Perevoshchikova, Jr., Idaho

Sophia Marks, Jr., New Mexico State



Sophie Kobuch/Aglae Van den Bergh, Hawaii

Vivien Silfany/Klaudia Wlodarczyk, Boise State

Maria Mizyuk/Caroline Bailly, Nevada





» «