Broncos Advance to Finals

BOISE, Idaho The Boise State University men’s tennis team advanced to the finals of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Mountain Region Team Playoff with a 4-0 victory over UNLV.


The match was set in a dual format and opened with singles play. The Broncos swept the competition and now wait to face the winner of BYU and New Mexico which is slated to start at 12:30 p.m.


Clancy Shields collected the first point of the match for Boise State when he defeated Brett Hunter 6-2 in the first set and 6-0 in the second. Clancy broke Hunter in the opening set to go ahead 1-0 and again on the fifth point to go ahead 4-1 before eventually winning the set 6-2.


After going up 1-0, Eric Roberson broke Wes Burrows’ serve to take a 2-0 lead and the two exchanged points there after with Roberson prevailing 6-3 in the first set. The second set saw Roberson shutout Burrows 6-0.


Steve Robertson, starting at the number six position, broke his opponent, Slavko Bijelica twice in the first set and won 6-1. The two players battled ferociously in the second set by Robertson came away with the victory 6-4 to capture the third point of the match for the Broncos.


Needing just one point to advance to the finals, Boise State turned to the number one ranked player in the region Luke Shields to accomplish the task. Cheered on by a group of loyal supporters Luke vanquished Elliot Wronski 6-1 in the first set and followed it up with a 6-2 victory in the second to earn the fourth point of the match for the Broncos and propel them into the finals.


The championship match will begin at 6:30 p.m., tonight and will feature Boise State taking on the winner of the New Mexico and BYU match. The winner of the championship match will advance to compete in the ITA National Team Indoor Championships, which will be held Feb. 16-18 in Chicago.


Boise State vs. UNLV



Clancy Shields d. Brett Hunter 6-2, 6-0

Eric Roberson d. Wes Burrows 6-3, 6-0

Steve Robertson d. Slavko Bijelica 6-1, 6-4

Luke Shields d. Elliot Wronski 6-1, 6-2

Piotr Dilaj and Jonathon Hooper DNF

Blake Boswell and Luca Barlocchi DNF

» «