Petersen named finalist for two more national coach of the year awards



BOISE, Idaho Boise State head football coach Chris Petersen has been named a finalist for two more national coach of the year honors. 

            Petersen is one of five finalists for the American Heart Association’s Paul “Bear” Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award, as well as being named one of five finalists for the American Football Monthly 2006 Schutt Sports Division I-A Coach of the Year.

            In the history of college football, only two coaches since 1900 have won 12 games in his first season at the helm of a Division I football teamone of them is Chris Petersen.

            The 42-year old first-year head coach took the reigns of the Bronco program on January 1, 2006, after five seasons as the schools offensive coordinator, and continued the success that saw Boise State win six championships in seven years, while qualifying for six bowl games. 

Petersen took it one step further with the school’s first ever trip to a BCS bowl game, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl against Oklahoma.  Petersen led Boise State to an undefeated 12-0 regular season and the school’s fifth straight Western Athletic Conference title.

Petersen is joined as a finalist for the Paul “Bear” Bryant award by Bret Bielema (Wisconson), Lloyd Carr (Michigan), Greg Schiano (Rutgers) and Bob Stoops (Oklahoma).

Schiano was named the winner of the 2006 Schutt 1-A Coach of the Year Award, while Petersen was joined by Jim Grobe (Wake Forest), Bielema and Todd Graham (Rice) as the other finalists.

Petersen has also been named the American Football Coaches Association Region 4 Coach of the Year, as well as being selected as a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award and a semifinalist for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award.