Bronco Bowl History

Did you know that seven out of eight past bowl games involving Boise State have come down to the last seconds of the game before being decided?  There is no question, the Broncos have quickly become one of the most watched and eventful teams during the college football bowl season. 

The dramatic finishes started in 2003 as TCU missed a field goal in the closing seconds of the Fort Worth Bowl that would have tied the game, and carried through the 2010 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl as Boise State held on for a 17-10 victory with an interception in the closing seconds and TCU driving for a potential game tying score.

In between those games, heart stopping moments against Louisville, Boston College and East Carolina have kept the hard core fan and even the casual observer locked to their seats till the final play.  And, who can forget the now historic 2007 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, a game that changed the landscape of college football.  Anchored by the "Hook and Ladder" to tie Oklahoma in the closing seconds of the game, and culminating with the "Statue Left" overtime two-point conversion, the Broncos stunned the Sooners and became the darlings of college football.

The 2011 season will mark Boise State's 12th bowl game since joining the Division I-A ranks in 1996 (now known as FBS).  It will also mark the tenth straight season in which the Broncos have appeared in a bowl game.  In that span, Boise State has been led by three different head coaches and met teams from the Big 12, ACC, Conference USA and the Mountain West Conference.

Boise State's first appearance came in 1999, when the Broncos won the Big West Conference and met Louisville in the Humanitarian Bowl.  Performing on the biggest stage hasn't fazed the Broncos, with two BCS bowl wins in that span, capturing coveted Fiesta Bowl championships in 2007 and 2010.  In all, Boise State has appeared in a different bowl game in seven of the past eight years, reflective of a program that has become a sought after commodity come bowl season and a television ratings dream.

Last year the Broncos easily handeled that Utah Utes, defeating them 26-3. Will drama unfold at the 2011 Maaco Bowl Las Vegas?  The answer is simple, you better tune in to find out, and probably stay till the final seconds ticks off. 

Below is Boise State's Bowl History.

1999 Humanitarian Bowl - Boise State 34, Louisville 31

            Boise State MVP: Brock Forsey, Running Back

2000 Humanitarian Bowl - Boise State 38, UTEP 23

            Boise State MVP: Bart Hendricks, Quarterback

2002 Humanitarian Bowl - #15 Boise State 34, Iowa State 16

            Boise State MVP: Bobby Hammer, Defensive Tackle

2003 Fort Worth Bowl - #18 Boise State 34, #19 TCU 31

            Boise State MVP: Ryan Dinwiddie, Quarterback

2004 Liberty Bowl - #8 Louisville 44, #10 Boise State 40

            Boise State Offensive MVP: Jared Zabransky, Quarterback

            Boise State Defensive MVP: Andy Avalos, Linebacker

2005 MPC Computers Bowl - #19 Boston College 27, Boise State 21

            Boise State MVP: Jared Zabransky, Quarterback

2007 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl - #9 Boise State 43, #7 Oklahoma 42 (OT)

            Boise State Offensive MVP: Jared Zabransky, Quarterback

            Boise State Defensive MVP: Marty Tadman, Safety

2007 Hawai'i Bowl - East Carolina 41, #24 Boise State 38

            Boise State MVP: Jeremy Avery, Running Back

2008 Poinsettia Bowl - #11 TCU 17, #9 Boise State 16

2010 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl - #6 Boise State 17, #4 TCU 10

            Boise State Offensive MVP: Kyle Efaw, Tight End

            Boise State Defensive MVP: Brandyn Thompson, Cornerback

2010 MAACO Bowl Las Vegas - #11 Boise State 26, #19 Utah 3

            Boise State MVP: Kellen Moore, Quarterback


» «