Harsin Named Finalist for Bryant Award
The winner of the Bear Bryant Award will be announced, Jan. 14.
Dec. 16, 2014

HOUSTON - Boise State football head coach Bryan Harsin was named one of five finalists for the Paul "Bear" Bryant National Coach of the Year Award, Tuesday evening.

The finalists were announced on Fox Sports Live on Fox Sports 1, and also included Jimbo Fisher (Florida State), Hugh Freeze (Ole Miss), Gary Patterson (TCU) and Nick Saban (Alabama).

The finalist accolade is the third of the season for Harsin, who was also named a finalist for both the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award and the Dodd Trophy, given annually by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation.

The winner of the Bear Bryant Award will be announced live at a banquet in Houston, Jan. 14.

In his first year as Boise State's head coach, Harsin, a former Bronco quarterback and assistant coach, has guided the team to an 11-2 record, a Mountain West Championship and a berth in the VIZIO Fiesta Bowl.

The conference championship is the team's first outright title since joining the Mountain West in 2011, and the first outright league crown overall since 2009.

The only alumnus to lead the Broncos as head coach in Boise State history, Harsin has now won a conference championship as a student-athlete, assistant coach and head coach.

In addition to rejoining the national rankings - Boise State ranked 20th in the final College Football Playoff Top 25 - the Broncos' offense has also returned to the nation's elite. Boise State concluded the regular season ranked ninth in scoring offense (39.8) and 14th in total offense (496.1).

Boise State will be making its third trip to the Fiesta Bowl in nine seasons Dec. 31, where it will square off against 10th-ranked Arizona at 2 p.m. MT from University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz.

» «