Harsin Named National Coach of the Year Finalist
Harsin led Boise State to its first outright league title since 2009 this season.
Dec. 8, 2014

BOISE, Idaho - Boise State football head coach Bryan Harsin has been named one of eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, the Football Writers Association of America announced Monday.

The award, given annually to the national coach of the year, is presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Other finalists for the award include Art Briles (Baylor), Jimbo Fisher (Florida State), Justin Fuente (Memphis), Mark Helfrich (Oregon), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Gary Patterson (TCU) and Nick Saban (Alabama).

In his first year as Boise State's head coach, Harsin, a former Bronco quarterback and assistant coach, has guided the team to an 11-2 record, a Mountain West Championship and a berth in the Vizio Fiesta Bowl.

The conference championship is the team's first outright title since joining the Mountain West in 2011, and the first outright league crown overall since 2009.

The only alumnus to lead the Broncos as head coach in Boise State history, Harsin has now won a conference championship as a student-athlete, assistant coach and head coach.

In addition to rejoining the national rankings - Boise State ranked 20th in the final College Football Playoff Top 25 - the Broncos' offense has also returned to the nation's elite. Boise State concluded the regular season ranked ninth in scoring offense (39.8) and 14th in total offense (496.1).

Boise State will be making its third trip to the Fiesta Bowl in nine seasons Dec. 31, where it will square off against 10th-ranked Arizona. For ticket and bowl information, visit FIESTA BOWL CENTRAL.

» «