Football Announces 2015 Team Awards
Dec. 6, 2015

BOISE, Idaho – The Boise State football team held its annual banquet Sunday, where team awards for the 2015 campaign were announced.

Taking home top honors were junior wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck (Team Most Valuable Player), sophomore running back Jeremy McNichols (Offensive MVP) and redshirt senior safety Darian Thompson (Defensive MVP).

Thompson, who has been named the Broncos’ defensive most valuable player in each of the last two seasons, also garnered his second-straight first-team All-Mountain West accolade in 2015. He led the Broncos with five interceptions and ranked second with 63 tackles. A Jim Thorpe Award semifinalist, Thompson set the MW record, hauling in his 19th-career interception this season.

Sperbeck earned his first-career nod to the All-MW First Team thanks to a record-breaking season. He led the league in both receptions (82) and receiving yards (1,334), establishing a Boise State record in the latter statistical category. He enters Boise State’s bowl game needing just six catches to tie Matt Miller’s single-season school record total of 88, set in 2013.

McNichols, a second-team All-MW selection this season, is tied with Alabama running back Derrick Henry for the national lead with 23 total touchdowns. He carried 221 times in 2015, picking up 1,244 yards and 18 touchdowns, and also caught 46 passes for 364 yards and five scores.

The Broncos’ Special Teams Player of the Year went to junior linebacker Darren Lee, who led the Broncos onto the field with The Hammer three times in 2015, and has now done so six times throughout his career.

Scout Player of the Year honors went to redshirt sophomore running back Ryan Wolpin (offense), freshman linebacker Marquis Hendrix (defense) and freshman safety Evan Tyler (special teams).

Like Thompson and the Defensive Player of the Year accolade, the team’s Outstanding Linemen awards were also repeat winners. Redshirt senior center Marcus Henry took home Outstanding Offensive Lineman, while junior STUD end Kamalei Correa was named Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Each also took home the award in 2014.

Earning Boise State’s Academic Achievement Award was redshirt sophomore center Mason Hampton, while the team’s Valor Award went to redshirt senior defensive tackle Justin Taimatuia and the Plow Horse (Strength) Award went to redshirt senior defensive end Tyler Horn.

The Broncos will square off against Northern Illinois in the San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl, set for Dec. 23, at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego.

A complete list of the Bronco award winners can be found below:

Academic Achievement - Mason Hampton
Valor Award - Justin Taimatuia
Plow Horse (Strength Award) - Tyler Horn
Special Teams Scout - Evan Tyler
Offensive Scout - Ryan Wolpin
Defensive Scout - Marquis Hendrix
Special Teams MVP - Darren Lee
Outstanding Offensive Lineman - Marcus Henry
Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Kamalei Correa
Defensive MVP - Darian Thompson
Offensive MVP - Jeremy McNichols
Team MVP - Thomas Sperbeck

» «