Broncos Announce Football Awards

BOISE, Idaho – The Boise State football team announced its awards for the 2011 season at the team’s annual banquet, Sunday.

Redshirt senior quarterback Kellen Moore was named Boise State’s Most Valuable Player for the second-straight season. Moore completed 300-of-405 passes for 3,507 yards and 41 touchdowns during the regular season, setting single-season records in completions and touchdowns. His completion percentage (.741) is also currently the highest in Boise State single-season history.

Moore was also honored for setting the NCAA record for career wins by a quarterback (49), and redshirt senior wide receiver Tyler Shoemaker was presented with a Record Breaker Ball for setting Boise State’s single-season touchdown reception record (15) this year.

Boise State’s Offensive Most Valuable Player honors went to redshirt senior running back Doug Martin, who eclipsed 1,000 yards rushing for the second-straight season. His 1,148 yards in 2011 are the ninth-most in school history, and his 17 rushing touchdowns this season are the third-most all-time.

Senior Shea McClellin was named Defensive Most Valuable Player. His 46 tackles were tied for the third-most on the team, and his 9.5 tackles-for-loss and 6.0 sacks each ranked second. McClellin was also one of just two Broncos with multiple interceptions this season, and he also forced a fumble and blocked a kick.

Redshirt senior Hunter White and redshirt junior J.C. Percy shared the Broncos’ Special Teams Player of the Year award, and Boise State’s Hammer Award went to senior Byron Hout.

Redshirt senior left tackle Nate Potter was named Offensive Lineman of the Year after starting each of the team’s 12 games. The Broncos completed the regular season tied for first in the nation in fewest sacks allowed, giving up just eight in 12 games (0.67 per game).

Senior Tyrone Crawford was named the team’s Defensive Lineman of the Year after leading the team with 13.5 TFLs and 6.5 sacks. He also forced three fumbles and recovered two – one of which he returned for a touchdown – and blocked one kick.

Freshman quarterback Jimmy Laughrea was named the team’s Offensive Scout Player of the Year, while sophomore defensive lineman Beau Martin received Defensive Scout Player of the Year honors after transferring from CSU-Pueblo prior to this season. Dillon Lukehart was named Boise State’s Special Teams Scout Player of the Year.

This year’s Iron Bronco Award went to redshirt senior defensive end Jarrell Root, and the Bronco Ambassador Award went to redshirt senior cornerback Antwon Murray. Redshirt senior center Thomas Byrd and senior defensive tackle Chase Baker shared the Denny Erickson Valor Award, and freshman offensive lineman Rees Odhiambo earned the Ultimate Goon Award.

Redshirt senior linebacker Aaron Tevis earned the Pat Fuller Memorial Award for Academic Achievement. Tevis is already working on his master’s in business administration, and is a three-time conference all-academic selection.

A complete listing of Boise State’s 2011 awards can be found below:

Pat Fuller Memorial (Academic Achievement)
Aaron Tevis

Record Breaker Ball
Tyler Shoemaker (Most TD Receptions/Single Season)

NCAA Record Presentation
Kellen Moore (Most Wins by QB in NCAA History)

Ultimate Goon Award
Rees Odhiambo

Iron Bronco Award
Jarrell Root

Bronco Ambassador Award
Antwon Murray

Offensive Scout Player of the Year
Jimmy Laughrea

Defensive Scout Player of the Year
Beau Martin

Special Teams Scout Player of the Year
Dillon Lukehart

Hammer Award
Byron Hout

Special Teams Player of the Year
Hunter White and J.C. Percy

Outstanding Offensive Lineman
Nate Potter

Outstanding Defensive Lineman
Tyrone Crawford

Denny Erickson Valor Award
Thomas Byrd and Chase Baker

Most Valuable Offensive Player
Doug Martin

Most Valuable Defensive Player
Shea McClellin

Team MVP
Kellen Moore


» «