Petersen Named Regional Coach of the Year

BOISE, Idaho The American Football Coaches Association named Boise State University head coach Chris Petersen the Region 4 Coach of the Year, Monday.

"What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves," AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. "The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis."

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions: I-A, I-AA, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by active members of the association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The 2006 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2007 AFCA Convention in San Antonio. The dinner is scheduled for January 10.

Joining Petersen as winners in Division I-A are Wake Forest’s Jim Grobe (Region 1), Arkansas' Houston Nutt (Region 2), Michigan's Lloyd Carr (Region 3), and BYU's Bronco Mendenhall (Region 5).

» «