Bronco Football Awards Announced

BOISE, Idaho Boise State University Head Coach Chris Petersen announced the 2006 Bronco team awards, Saturday night, at the team’s annual football banquet.

Senior quarterback Jared Zabransky and sophomore running back Ian Johnson were honored as the team’s co-Offensive Players of the Year. The Defensive Player of the Year award was given to senior linebacker Korey Hall. Junior Ia Falo was named the Broncos’ Special Teams Player of the Year.

The Pat Fuller Memorial Academic Achievement award was given to senior punter Kyle Stringer.

Sophomore tackle Ryan Clady was honored as the Broncos’ Outstanding Offensive Lineman, while senior tackle Andrew Browning was named the squad’s Outstanding Defensive Lineman.

Senior linebacker Colt Brooks was awarded the Denny Erickson Award for Valor. Junior cornerback Austin Smith was honored with the Hammer Award, given to the Bronco with the most “big hits” on the year. The Iron Bronco Strength Award, given to the strongest athlete on the active roster, went to senior safety Gerald Alexander. The Ultimate Hard Hat award, given to the strongest incoming Bronco athlete, went to sophomore linebacker James Hurlburt.

On the scout team, freshman linebacker Derrell Acrey was awarded Defensive Player of the Year, freshman quarterback Mike Coughlin was named Offensive Player of the Year, and freshman cornerback Cade Hulbert was named Special Teams Player of the Year.

Hall, Brooks and Zabransky were honored with Captain’s Awards for their contributions to the Broncos this season.

Based on team vote, the 2007 captains were also announced. Johnson, junior defensive end Nick Schlekeway, junior tight end Ryan Putnam, and Falo will serve as Bronco captains next season.

» «