Kellen Moore Named Finalist for Manning Award

                BOISE, Idaho - Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore was named a finalist for another national award today (Nov. 30) when he joined a group of 10 quarterbacks as finalists for the Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl. 

                The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.  It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates' bowl performances into consideration in its balloting. 

                The winner will be announced after the postseason bowls are completed in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

                Along with Moore, the finalists include Matt Barkley of USC; Kirk Cousins of Michigan State; Robert Griffin III of Baylor; Landry Jones of Oklahoma; Case Keenum of Houston; Andrew Luck of Stanford; Brandon Weeden of Oklahoma State; Russell Wilson of Wisconsin and Tyler Wilson of Arkansas.

                Moore has won more games as a starting quarterback than another player in history.  The senior from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS) has a record of 48-3 for a .941 winning percentage.  He is second on the all-time NCAA touchdown pass list with 137, and is sixth for NCAA career passing yards with 14,061. 

                This year he has already set the Mountain West single-season record for touchdown passes with 38, and he is the only player in Football Bowl Subdivision history to pass for over 3,000 yards, and gain over 3,000 yards in total offense for four consecutive years.

                Moore has also been named a finalist for two other national awards this year - the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Maxwell Award which goes to the nation's most outstanding player.

                Moore, along with 20 other seniors, will make their final appearance on the blue field at Bronco Stadium this Saturday (Dec. 3) in the final game of the regular season.  Boise State will face New Mexico at 4:00 p.m. (MT).

» «