Kellen Moore Named a Finalist for Allstate Sugar Bowl Manning Award

            BOISE, Idaho - Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore's outstanding sophomore campaign earned him more national recognition on Tuesday (Dec. 1) as he was named one of 10 finalists for the Allstate Sugar Bowl Manning Award.

            The Manning Award, which is named in honor of the accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, recognizes the top college quarterback each season from the FBS. The award is in its' sixth year of existence, and is the only current quarterback award that considers each candidates' bowl performance.

            Moore, a Prosser, Wash. native (Prosser HS), has been stellar through 12 games so far this season. He currently leads the nation in pass efficiency rating (168.74 percent) and is tied for first in touchdown passes thrown (38). Last week Moore broke the Boise State record for single season touchdown passes, which was previously 35 (Bart Hendricks, 2000), in the Broncos' 44-33 win over Nevada. He has completed 64.9 percent of his passes this year, while also throwing just three interceptions; the fewest of any FBS quarterback who has played in at least 10 games this season.

            Along with the Manning Award, Moore is currently still in contention for two other national post-season awards. He has also been named a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award and is a nominee for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. The Manning Award winner will be announced on Jan. 14 (Thursday).

Boise State will look to secure a perfect 13-0 regular season record and the outright Western Athletic Conference Championship this Saturday (Dec. 5) when they play host to New Mexico State. Kick-off is scheduled for 1 p.m. in Bronco Stadium.

2009 Allstate Sugar Bowl Manning Award Finalists:

  • - Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame
  • - Andy Dalton, TCU
  • - Max Hall, BYU
  • - Case Keenum, Houston
  • - Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan
  • - Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
  • - Colt McCoy, Texas
  • - Kellen Moore, Boise State
  • - Tony Pike, Cincinnati
  • - Tim Tebow, Florida

» «