Bronco O-Line Recognized
Nov. 22, 2016

  • Joe Moore Award Website

    BOISE, Idaho – Boise State football’s offensive line was named a semifinalist for the Joe Moore Award, given to college football’s most outstanding offensive line unit.

    The recipient of the award, currently in its second year, will be named in early December. The award recognizes the top offensve line unit on college football based off of six criteria: Toughness, Effort, Teamwork, Consistency, Technique and Finishing.

    Led by the starting quintet of center Mason Hampton, guards Travis Averill and Steven Baggett, and tackles Mario Yakoo and Archie Lewis, the Bronco offensive line powers the top offense in the Mountain West at 487.1 yards gained per game.

    The Bronco front has plowed the road for running back Jeremy McNichols, the national leader in touchdowns (26) and rushing touchdowns (22) who also ranks third in the country with 1,575 rushing yards, his second-straight 1,000-yard campaign. Behind the Bronco line, McNichols has also posted a Mountain West-best nine 100-yard rushing games along with three 200-yard games, becoming the first Bronco in school history to rush for 200 yards thrice in one season.

    Just as important, the Bronco offensive line has done an outstanding job protecting quarterback Brett Rypien as he directs the Mountain West’s top passing attack (296.1 ypg) which also ranks 19th in the country. While Rypien leads the Mountain West in all major passing categories except for touchdown passes (he’s second with 22), the Bronco line has facilitated this success by keeping Rypien upright, as he has been sacked only 15 times this season.

    Boise State (10-1, 6-1 Mountain West) travels to Colorado Springs this Friday for the regular-season finale at Air Force (8-3, 4-3 MW). Kickoff is set for 1:30 p.m. on CBS Sports Network.

  • » «