Kellen Moore Named a Finalist for Maxwell Award

                BOISE, Idaho - Postseason honors are once again coming around for Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore with today's announcement that he is a finalist for the 75th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year.

                Moore is joined by Stanford senior quarterback Andrew Luck and Alabama junior running back Trent Richardson for this annual award which will be presented at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8 (Thursday) in Orlando, Florida.

                This is the second straight year Moore has been named a finalist for the Maxwell Award.  Luck was also a finalist for the award in 2010 which was won by Cam Newton of Auburn.  Moore, Luck, Newton and Oregon running back LaMichael James were also finalists for last year's Heisman Trophy which Newton also won. 

                This is the second postseason award that Moore has been named a finalist for this season. 

Last week he was named one of the five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, given annually to the nation's top collegiate quarterback.  Other finalists include Luck, Robert Griffin III of Baylor, Landry Jones of Oklahoma and Brandon Weeden of Oklahoma State.

                Moore is the winningest starting quarterback in college football history for victories and percentage.  Moore's record is 47-3 for .940%. 

                In his game last week against San Diego State, Moore moved into a tie on the NCAA career touchdown pass list with Graham Harrell of Texas Tech (2005-08) with 134.  He is also now sixth on the NCAA career passing yards list with 13,782 and is the active leader for career passing efficiency with a 169.06 rating. 

Moore is also on track to break the NCAA career record for the lowest percentage of passes had intercepted.  Moore has thrown just 25 interceptions out of 1,555 career passing attempts for 1.60%.  The record is 1.69% (34 of 2,010) by Harrell of Texas Tech.

                This year Moore currently leads the nation in completion percentage at .738% (248 of 336).  He is second in touchdown passes with 35, third in the country for points responsible for in a game at 21.0 points-per-game and fourth in passing efficiency with a 177.49 rating. 

                Moore was also a semifinalist for this year's Davey O'Brien, which honors the nation's top quarterback, and the Walter Camp Player of the Year award given annually by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

                The ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show will be broadcast live on ESPN beginning at 7:00 p.m. (MT) on Dec. 8 (Thursday) from the Atlantic Dance Hall on the Boardwalk at The Walt Disney World Resort. 

» «