BOISE, Idaho The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced today (Nov. 16) announced its 10 semifinalists for the 2006 Doak Walker Award and Boise State University running back Ian Johnson is one of the selections for the award which goes to the top running back in the country.

His selection marks the second time this week Johnson has made the semifinalist list of a national award. On Monday (Nov. 13), Johnson was announced as one of 10 players to watch for the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year award.

A sophomore from San Dimas, Calif., (Damien HS), Johnson currently leads the nation in scoring with 21 touchdowns and 126 points. He is also the nation’s fourth leading rusher with 1,466 yards and is fourth in all-purpose yards with 1,517. He is averaging 6.6 yards per carry and 146.66 yards rushing per game.

The 166 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes over the next week to determine the 2006 finalists. The three finalists will be announced on Tuesday (Nov. 21). A second vote by the committee will determine the recipient. The winner of the award will be announced live on ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 7 (Thursday).

Johnson is one of only two running backs from the western part of the United States to make the semifinalist list. Marshawn Lynch of the University of California is the other.

Following is a complete list of semifinalists.

Ian Johnson, Sophomore - Boise State

James Davis, Sophomore - Clemson

Mike Hart, Junior - Michigan

P.J. Hill, Junior, Freshman - Wisconsin

Marshawn Lynch, Junior - California

Darren McFadden, Sophomore - Arkansas

Adrian Peterson, Junior - Oklahoma

Ray Rice, Sophomore - Rutgers

Steve Slaton, Sophomore - West Virginia

Garrett Wolfe, Senior - Northern Illinois

» «