Moore Named Finalist for Unitas Award
BALTIMORE, Md. – Boise State redshirt senior quarterback Kellen Moore has been named one of five finalists for the 2011 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, given annually to the nation’s top collegiate quarterback.

The original field of 25 was narrowed to five finalists: Moore, Robert Griffin III of Baylor, Landry Jones of Oklahoma, Andrew Luck of Stanford and Brandon Weeden of Oklahoma State.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class. Candidates are judged on character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership and athletic accomplishments.

Moore, who has also been named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Awards, has completed 220-of-297 passes for 2,549 yards and 31 touchdowns through nine games this season. The completions are already the sixth-most in Boise State single-season history, and the touchdown total is tied for fifth.

He has more wins than any quarterback in NCAA history, ranks fourth on the NCAA’s all-time touchdown passes list (130) and is seventh on the NCAA’s career passing yardage list (13,416).

The Golden Arm Award will be presented Dec. 9. Past winners include Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007), Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006), Matt Leinart (USC, 2005), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997) and Rodney Peete (USC, 1998).

» «