FORT WORTH, TEXAS The Davey O’Brien Foundation today announced the semifinalists for the 2006 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and Boise State University quarterback Jared Zabrasky is one of the 18 selected.  The award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback.

The O’Brien Selection Committee, made up of a nationwide panel of sportswriters, commentators and former O’Brien Award winners, will vote later this month to narrow the field again. The three finalists will be announced November 21 by the National College Football Awards Association in a joint effort among college football award programs.

A senior from Hermiston, Oregon, Zabransky has been the starting quarterback at Boise State the past three years compiling an overall record of 29-5 (85.3%).  This year he is enjoying his best year in leading the Bronco offense completing 117 of 189 passes for 1,609 yards, 16 touchdowns and an efficiency rating of 156.06.  He is ranked fourth all-time at Boise State in career passing yards with 8,145 and fifth for career touchdown passes with 51.  He has also scored 29 career touchdowns running the football and scored 180 total points.  Combining his passing and rushing touchdowns, Zabransky has been responsible for 80 touchdowns during his Bronco career.

The 18 semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are: Erik Ainge, Tennessee, Jr., SEC; John Beck, BYU, Sr., MWC; John David Booty, USC, Jr., PAC-10; Colt Brennan, Hawai'i, Jr., WAC; Brian Brohm, Louisville, Jr., Big East; Chad Henne, Michigan, Jr., Big Ten; Kevin Kolb, Houston, Sr., C-USA; Chris Leak, Florida, Sr., SEC; Nate Longshore, California, So., PAC-10; Colt McCoy, Texas, Fr., Big 12; Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh, Sr., Big East; Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, Sr., Ind.; Bobby Reid, Oklahoma State, So., Big 12; JaMarcus Russell, LSU, Jr., SEC; Troy Smith, Ohio State, Sr., Big Ten; John Stocco, Wisconsin, Sr., Big Ten; Pat White, West Virginia, So., Big East and Jared Zabransky, Boise State, Sr., WAC

The winner of the 2006 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for December 7 at 7 p.m. EST.  The show will air live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on The Boardwalk at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. The winner will then be honored on February 19, 2007, at the 30th annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth, Texas, along with Paul Hornung, recipient of the 2006 Davey O’Brien Legends Award, and the O’Brien High School Scholarship Award winner.

Celebrating 30 years, the O’Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks. The Davey O’Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O’Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing an outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award’s namesake, Davey O’Brien. The award carries with it a $10,000 grant to the scholarship program of the university in which the winner is enrolled. A high school scholarship program began in 1986, awarding a $20,000 college scholarship to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex each year. Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has awarded more than $250,000 to the various O’Brien winners’ universities and more than $400,000 to deserving high school students.

                For more information about the award please visit http://www.daveyobrien.com.

» «