BOISE, Idaho Chris Petersen, head football coach at Boise State University and the 2006 winner of the Paul “Bear” Bryant College Coach of the Year award, has been named to the 2008 watch list for the same award.

The Bryant awards committee of the American Heart Association made the announcement today. The selection committee consists of current and past event chairmen, Bryant family representatives, national sportscasters and sportswriters, Association representatives, Houston sports analysts and former collegiate players and coaches.

            Joining a group of 19 other head coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly I-A), Petersen was named the 2006 winner after leading the Broncos to an undefeated season of 13-0 and a 43-42 overtime victory over the University of Oklahoma in the Fiesta Bowl.

            Petersen, who has a three-year career record of 31-3 for a .912 winning percentage, has guided this year’s Boise State team to an undefeated record of 8-0 and a No. 9 ranking in the Associated Press media poll, and a No. 10 ranking in the Bowl Championship Series standings. 

            Former Bryant College Coach of the Year winners also making the watch list include Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops, Nick Saban from the University of Alabama and Mack Brown from the University of Texas. 

            In December a finalists list will be announced and comprised of five to 10 coaches.  Finalists will attend an awards dinner on January 15 (Thursday), 2009 in Houston.

» «