Wale, Harsin Named Award Candidates
Oct. 31, 2016

  • Ray Guy Award | Dodd Trophy Midseason Watch List

    BOISE, Idaho – Boise State head coach Bryan Harsin and redshirt senior punter Sean Wale were each named a national award candidate Monday, as Harsin was named to the Dodd Trophy Midseason List and Wale to the candidate list of the Ray Guy Award, given annually to the nation’s top punter.

    Harsin, in his third season at Boise State, has guided the Broncos to a 7-1 record and a 3-1 mark in Mountain West play. This year the Broncos opened the season with seven-straight wins for the first time since 2011, climbing as high as 13th in the national polls.

    The Bronco leader has now been named to two coach of the year award lists this season, as Harsin was named a Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award candidate on Oct. 19. The winner of the Dodd Trophy will be announced in the week leading up to the Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl (Dec. 31).

    Wale has been enjoying a career year for the Broncos in 2016, ranking 14th in the country with a 45.0 yards-per-punt average. The combination of distance and placement on Wale’s punts has also benefitted the Bronco defense by preventing big returns from the opposition, as Boise State’s net punting average of 42.0 yards ranks seventh in the country and tops the Mountain West.

    The La Habra native has dropped 12 of his punts this year inside the opponent’s 20-yard line, with 17 being fair-caught. Eight of his punts have traveled at least 50 yards with a longest of 58. For the year, opponents have only managed to return 12 of Wale’s 35 punts in 2016, averaging just 7.1 yards per return.

    Wale was named Mountain West Special Teams Player of the Week back on Sept. 26 following a stellar performance at Oregon State in which he averaged 46.5 yards over six punts with three landing inside the 20 in the 38-24 win over the Beavers.

    The Augusta Sports Council, which oversees the Ray Guy Award, will announce 10 semifinalists on Nov. 11, and from there the three finalists on Nov. 22. The 2016 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8.

  • » «