Moore Named Maxwell Award Semifinalist
SOUTHAMPTON, Pa. – Boise State redshirt senior quarterback Kellen Moore was named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award Monday, given annually to the nation’s collegiate player of the year.

Moore – who was also named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award last week, given annually to the nation’s top quarterback – is one of 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award. Three finalists will be named Nov. 21, and the winner will be named at the ESPN College Football Awards Show, Dec. 8.

Moore, from Prosser, Wash., is one of nine quarterbacks on the list, and is the only student-athlete from the Mountain West.

Moore has been named MW Offensive Player of the Week four times in seven 2011 games, and is currently tied with Colt McCoy (Texas, 2006-09) on the NCAA’s all-time list for wins by a quarterback with 45.

Moore also currently ranks fourth all-time on the NCAA’s career list for touchdown passes (123), and is 10th on the NCAA’s career passing yardage list (12,877).

This season, Moore leads the nation in completion percentage (.763), is fourth in passing efficiency (180.72) and passing touchdowns (24), 13th in passing yards per game (287.14) and 16th in completions per game (24.86).

The complete list of semifinalists can be found below:

Matt Barkley JR QB USC
Justin Blackmon JR WR Oklahoma State
Tajh Boyd SO QB Clemson
Ryan Broyles SR WR Oklahoma
Robert Griffin III JR QB Baylor
LaMichael James JR RB Oregon
Landry Jones JR QB Oklahoma
Case Keenum SR QB Houston
Andrew Luck JR QB Stanford
Kellen Moore SR QB Boise State
Chris Polk JR RB Washington
Trent Richardson JR RB Alabama
Brandon Weeden SR QB Oklahoma State
Russell Wilson SR QB Wisconsin
David Wilson JR RB Virginia Tech
Robert Woods SO WR USC

» «