Petersen Named to Bryant Award Watch List
HOUSTON – Boise State football head coach Chris Petersen was named to the 2011 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Watch List. He is one of 20 individuals on the watch list, which will be narrowed to five to 10 finalists in December.

Petersen is already the only two-time recipient of the award, which is the only collegiate coaching honor voted on after all bowl games have concluded.

Petersen won his first Bear Bryant Award following his head coaching debut in 2006, and again received the honor following the 2009 season. The Broncos went undefeated during each season.

Petersen entered the 2011 season as the winningest active coach in the Football Bowl Subdivision, boasting a 61-5 record for a winning percentage of .924. Through seven games this season, his record now stands at 68-5 (.932).

Finalists will attend an awards dinner Jan. 19, 2012, in Houston, where the winner will be announced live.

The Bryant Award honors excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation’s Nos. 1 and 3 killers, respectively. Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Finds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA.

The complete list of coaches on the watch list can be found below:

Frank Beamer (Virginia Tech)
Bret Bielema (Wisconsin)
Mark Dantonio (Michigan State)
Mike Gundy (Oklahoma State)
Brady Hoke (Michigan)
Mark Hudspeth (Louisiana)
Chip Kelly (Oregon)
Les Miles (LSU)
Joe Paterno (Penn State)
Bo Pelini (Nebraska)
Chris Petersen (Boise State)
Bobby Petrino (Arkansas)
Nick Saban (Alabama)
David Shaw (Stanford)
Bill Snyder (Kansas State)
Steve Spurrier (South Carolina)
Bob Stoops (Oklahoma)
Kevin Sumlin (Houston)
Dabo Swinney (Clemson)
Tommy Tuberville (Texas Tech)

» «