Petersen and Moore Recognized for Individual Awards

            BOISE, Idaho – The Boise State football team received two more individual midseason honors on Monday (Oct. 26), as head coach Chris Petersen and quarterback Kellen Moore both were voted to the short lists for post-season awards.

            Coach Petersen was named as one of 20 Division I FBS coaches voted on the watch list for the 2009 Paul “Bear” Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award. The Bryant Award, which is named in honor of legendary coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, is voted on by members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association each January. It is currently the only college football coaching award voted on after the conclusion of all bowl games.

            Coach Petersen is familiar to the Bryant Award, as he won the award following the 2006 season. He has also been named a finalist for the award in two of his first three seasons leading the Broncos. Finalists for this year’s award will be announced later in December. Coach Petersen and the Broncos boast a 7-0 record in 2009, which makes his career record at Boise State 42-4.

            Moore, a sophomore from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS), also received individual recognition on Monday as he was named one of 15 semifinalists for the 2009 Davey O’Brien Quarterback Award. Through seven games this season Moore leads the nation in passing efficiency rating (172.15), having competed 68-percent of his passes, while throwing 21 touchdowns and just two interceptions.

The O’Brien Award is recognized as the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award in the country. The winner is selected by a group of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. Fans can also vote for the award winner, which accounts for five percent of the total vote.

The O’Brien Award winner is selected on the criteria of his quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. Fans can vote up to once daily at Fan voting will close at 12 p.m. (CST) on Nov. 12. The award winner will be announced Dec. 10.

Attached are complete lists of the 2009 Bryant Award watch list and the 2009 O’Brien Award semifinalists. The Broncos will take the field again on Saturday (Oct. 31), for a Western Athletic Conference showdown with San Jose State at 1 p.m. in Bronco Stadium.

» «