Moore Named Davey O?Brien Award Semifinalist
FORT WORTH, Texas – Boise State redshirt senior quarterback Kellen Moore was named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Davey O’Brien Award, presented annually to the nation’s top quarterback.

Moore, from Prosser, Wash., is one of three quarterbacks among this year’s group of semifinalists that has been a finalist for the award before. Moore and Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck were each finalists last season, and Houston quarterback Case Keenum was a finalist in 2009.

Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, semifinalists were selected by The O’Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Moore is the only quarterback from the Mountain West on the list.

The complete list of semifinalists is below:

Matt Barkley JR USC
Tajh Boyd SO Clemson
Kirk Cousins SR Michigan State
Seth Doege JR Texas Tech
Robert Griffin III JR Baylor
Landry Jones JR Oklahoma
Case Keenum SR Houston
Andrew Luck JR Stanford
Kellen Moore SR Boise State
Keith Price SO Washington
Denard Robinson JR Michigan
Ryan Tannehill SR Texas A&M
Darron Thomas JR Oregon
Brandon Weeden SR Oklahoma State
Russell Wilson SR Wisconsin
Tyler Wilson JR Arkansas

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at 11 a.m. (MT), Nov. 20.

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards show, airing Thursday, Dec. 8 on ESPN. Fans can visit the show’s dedicated web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

The 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb. 20, 2012 Fort Worth, Texas.

» «