Crawford, Forsey, Mikell Voted All-Blue
Sept. 9, 2016

  • 30 Years Of The Blue Home Page

    BOISE, Idaho - Boise State Football will recognize its 30-Year All-Blue Team at halftime of this Saturday's home opener against Washington State at Albertsons Stadium.

    Fans had the opportunity to vote for their favorite Broncos of the past 30 years (1986-present) for the 30 spots on the team, and a list of 27 players was announced in early August. Fans were also given the chance to vote on three additional players for the team, regardless of position, in a bonus ballot.

    Joining the 30-Year All-Blue Team from that bonus fan ballot are defensive lineman Tyrone Crawford (2010-11), running back Brock Forsey (1999-2002) and defensive back Quintin Mikell (1999-2002).

    Crawford played two seasons for the Broncos (2010-11), earning All-America honorable mention from Sports Illustrated in 2010 after recording 7.0 sacks and 13.5 tackles-for-loss among his 32 tackles.. The following season, Crawford picked up 6.5 sacks and 13.5 TFL and was named to the All-Mountain West First Team. Crawford would go on to be selected in the third round (81st overall) of the 2012 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys. He begins his fifth season in the league this Sunday as the Cowboys take on the New York Giants.

    Forsey finished his four-year Boise State career as the school's No. 2 rusher in the record books, racking up 4,045 yards on the ground, a figure that ranks third entering the 2016 season. He twice rushed for over 1,000 yards in a season, going for 1,207 in 2001 and capping his final season in 2002 with a then-school record 1,611 yards, a figure that is now No. 3 in the Bronco record book. Forsey remains Boise State's all-time leader touchdowns (68) and rushing attempts (813), with his single-season total of 295 (in 2002) standing as best in school history until 2014 when Jay Ajayi eclipsed it with 347 carries.

    Forsey put together one of the best seasons in Boise State history in 2002, not only rushing for the aforementioned 1,611 yards but scoring a then-school record 26 touchdowns on the ground and adding six more through the air for a total of 32, a mark that still stands (alongside Ajayi's 2014 total of 32 touchdowns) as No. 1 in the Boise State record book. That performance would net him the WAC Offensive Player of the Year award as well as a fourth-team All-America nod from The Sporting News.

    He would go on to be drafted in the sixth round (206th overall) of the 2003 NFL Draft by the Chicago Bears, and played two seasons in the league with the Bears (2003) and Miami Dolphins (2004).

    Also on the 1999-2002 Boise State teams that went a combined 40-10 and captured three conference titles (two Big West, one WAC), Mikell provided the pop on the Bronco defense. Mikell led the Broncos with 87 tackles (63 solo), including 2.0 sacks, 7.0 tackles-for-loss and a pair of interceptions, in 2001 before recording 97 tackles (56 solo) with 3.5 sacks and 5.5 TFL in 2002. He was named WAC Defensive Player of the Year in 2002 as well as a third-team All-American by The Sporting News.

    Mikell went on to play 11 seasons in the NFL (2003-13) for three teams: the Philadelphia Eagles (2003-10), St. Louis Rams (2011-12) and Carolina Panthers (2013), making the Pro Bowl in 2009 with the Eagles.

    Boise State 30-Year All-Blue Team

    Kellen Moore (2008-11)
    Ryan Dinwiddie (2001-03)

    Running Back
    Jay Ajayi (2012-14)
    Brock Forsey (1999-2002)
    Doug Martin (2008-11)

    Wide Receiver
    Matt Miller (2011-14)
    Austin Pettis (2007-10)
    Thomas Sperbeck (2013-Present)

    Tight End
    Jeb Putzier (1998-2001)

    Offensive Line
    Ryan Clady (2005-07)
    Daryn Colledge (2002-05)
    Scott Huff (1999-2002)
    Matt Paradis (2011-13)
    Nate Potter (2008-11)

    Defensive Line
    Tyrone Crawford (2010-11)
    Erik Helgeson (1987-90)
    Pete Kwiatkowski (1984-87)
    Demarcus Lawrence (2012-13)
    Shea McClellin (2008-11)
    Billy Winn (2008-11)

    Andy Avalos (2001-04)
    Korey Hall (2003-2006)
    Winston Venable (2009-10)

    Defensive Backs
    George Iloka (2008-11)
    Quintin Mikell (1999-2002)
    D. Ross (1999-2000)
    Marty Tadman (2004-07)
    Kyle Wilson (2006-09)

    Kyle Brotzman (2007-10)

    Kick Returner
    Chris Carr (2001-04)

  • » «