Moore Honored by Davey O?Brien Foundation
BOISE, Idaho – Boise State redshirt senior quarterback Kellen Moore was recognized by the Davey O’Brien Foundation Wednesday, garnering honorable mention Quarterback of the Week honors.

Moore completed 28-of-34 passes for 261 yards and three touchdowns, helping to lead the No. 5 Broncos to a 35-21 victory over No. 19 Georgia at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga.

He was one of 10 quarterbacks honored by the Davey O’Brien Foundation following the opening week of the season. Robert Griffin III (Baylor) was named the Quarterback of the Week, while Nick Foles (Arizona), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Case Keenum (Houston), Andrew Luck (Stanford), Danny O’Brien (Maryland), Bryn Renner (North Carolina), Brandon Weeden (Oklahoma State) and Russell Wilson (Wisconsin) were also named honorable mention.

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of the O’Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. All Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced, Oct. 24.

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily. Fans can vote HERE, and the fan vote counts as five percent of the total vote during each round of the voting process.

The fan vote will be combined with the results from the O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

The 2011 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show Dec. 8, on ESPN. The winner will also be honored at the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at the Fort Worth Club n Fort Worth, Texas, Feb. 20, 2012.

Founded in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback, and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

» «