Rypien Named To Manning Award Watch List
Aug. 15, 2016

BOISE, Idaho -- Boise State quarterback Brett Rypien was named to the Manning Award watch list Monday, his fourth such honor ahead of the 2016 campaign.

Rypien has already been named earlier this summer to the watch lists of the Maxwell Award (July 5), Davey O'Brien Award (July 14) and the Walter Camp Player of the Year award (July 15).

Rypien, one of 30 signal-callers on the Manning Award watch list, is coming off of a debut 2015 season in which he was named Mountain West Freshman of the Year and to the all-conference first team after leading the loop in passing yards (3,353), total offense (3,276 yards), completions (273) and attempts (429). Rypien, who made his collegiate debut in Week 3 (Sept. 18) against Idaho State, started Boise State's final 10 games of 2015 and threw 20 touchdowns with a completion percentage of 63.6, both marks good for second in the Mountain West.

The Bronco quarterback set the Boise State and Mountain West freshman records with 469 passing yards at UNLV on Oct. 31, and two weeks later bettered that with 506 passing yards while setting the school single-game records for completions (41) and attempts (75). Rypien went on to be named the Poinsettia Bowl Offensive MVP after throwing for 377 yards and three touchdowns in Boise State's 55-7 victory over Northern Illinois.

Six Broncos have now been named to a total of 11 watch lists ahead of the 2016 campaign. Rypien (Walter Camp Player of the Year, Manning Award, Maxwell Award,Davey O'Brien Award), running back Jeremy McNichols (Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award), tight end Jake Roh (Mackey Award, Allstate AFCA Good Hands Team), kicker Tyler Rausa (Lou Groza Award), wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck (Biletnikoff Award) and linebacker Tanner Vallejo (Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Butkus Award).

Boise State opens the 2016 season Saturday, Sept. 3 at Louisiana. The Broncos' home opener is the following Saturday, Sept. 10, against Washington State.

The 2016 Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, will announce its list of 10 finalists Nov. 30, with the winner announced Jan. 11. The award's recipient will be selected by a voting panel of selected national media members in addition to Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

2016 Boise State Football Preseason Watch List Members

QB Brett Rypien
Walter Camp Player of the Year Award
Manning Award
Maxwell Award
Davey O'Brien Award

RB Jeremy McNichols
Maxwell Award
Doak Walker Award

TE Jake Roh
Mackey Award
Allstate AFCA Good Hands Team

K Tyler Rausa
Lou Groza Award

WR Thomas Sperbeck
Biletnikoff Award

MLB Tanner Vallejo
Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Butkus Award

» «